We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely area shame about the hotel.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Belvedere Campoli

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Villa Belvedere Campoli to your Saves list
Villa Belvedere Campoli
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   Via di Campoli 91, 50024 Mercatale di Val di Pesa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ramsey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely area shame about the hotel.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

We arrived at the hotel and were confronted by the enchanting view of a villa situated on a hillside surrounded by grape and olive groves. The first impressions were excellent, if you discount the very rough track leading to the hotel, the receprionist spoke perfect English and was very efficient. Once booked in we were shown to our apartments, each one named after an Italian artist. Unfortunately from here on in things gradually went down hill. The rooms were very basic and sparsely furnished with nothing but a huge tree to be seen from the single window. The shower room, whilst being large enough, was again very basic and the fittings were anything but modern. Whilst we were led to believe that all rooms were air conditioned we were sorely disappointed. The ancient unit under the window in our bedroom failed to give out any cool air and their solution was to provide us with a table top fan! Other faults found included the lack of chambermaid service, the beds were never made and I am certain that neither the bedroom nor bathroom was ever cleaned during our 4 night stay. Breakfast was the only meal served on site, when we returned from a long days sightseeing we then had to drive out again to find an evening meal. The bar was a joke, it was poorly stocked, over priced and run on a help yourself honesty basis, it closed when the pool closed at about 7 o'clock in the evening not to open again until the following morning. If it had not been for the fantastic weather, the delights of Sienna, Florence and Pisa and the beautiful surroundings this holiday would have been a disaster. How the proprietors can describe this venue as a hotel is beyond me, it is more like a self catering facility without anywhere to prepare food. Needless to say I shall not be returning to the Hotel Belvedere.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    10
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights and we had friends staying in the Castello di Gabbiano down the road. The villa estate is lovely, but the photos are old though. They don't make wine there anymore, so don't really do tastings. We were shown to our room which had a lot of flies buzzing around it (but it was grape season, so perhaps this is the norm!). The room was clean, but very basic. Particularly after seeing our friends' rooms down the road! If you're wanting to make the choice, there are probably better places to stay. Rooms were basic, the breakfast wasn't really worth getting up for, and our room didn't have a view...

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

We were impressed by the magnificient style of the villa: the colors, landscapes, and the great views you could get from anywhere in the villa.
My room was clean and romantic, the bathroom was modern and clean with a shower.
Staff was always ready to help, and ready to book restaurants for us.
What pleasure to have a swim in the pool with views onthe olive trees and Tuscany ! Too bad the restaurant was closed !

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

We booked Villa Belvedere for our wedding. We had approx 60 guests staying at the Villa for varying lengths of time and I'd estimate that between us we spent over Euro 10,000. We arrived on the Wednesday with our wedding reception taking place the following Saturday. The receptionist was very unfriendly and dismissive. We were shown to our room where the fridge was switched off (it was 35 degrees outside) and there wasn't even a bottle of water in the room. The water pressure in the main villa was lousy (we'd stayed there in October last year when it was fine). The room wasn't especially clean (filthy under the beds). Some of the other members of our party experienced filthy toilets and fridges in their apartments. The grass where our reception was going to be held was uncut and the place looked generally tatty. I wanted to call the wedding off and fly home!

Things got better the following day when our wedding planner turned up and we kicked up a fuss but the service throughout our stay was genuinely appalling and we would have expected far better given the circumstances of our stay. There were just not enough members of staff at the villa at any one point in time and everything we requested was an effort. Management explain that they are hopelessly understaffed and the staff they have are not up to much. There was a change of management since we booked the villa and clearly things are not working out very well right now.

The main villa is supposed to provide hotel facilities with rooms cleaned daily. Not only were the rooms not cleaned on one day but there was a flood in my in-laws bathroom on our wedding day that was left for 24 hours with them literally paddling around.

We spent a lot of our stay cleaning up as there was nobody else to do it.

Be careful, some of the rooms don't have air conditioning and those without are unbearable in the heat of the summer.

We really wouldn't recommend this for a wedding or group booking. It's a shame as it's a beautiful villa in a wonderful location.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

I stayed here with a friend for a week in an appartment. The appartment was great, very authentic, just like the rest of the premises. It is close to Firenze and Siena, and there are some nice villages to have dinner, like San Casciano and Greve. We did not see a lot of that helpfull staff though that other people mention. One guy occasionaly brought us towels by the pool, which was unfortunately too cold too swim in. That was about it. Sometimes we had breakfast at the hotel, but we found it very hard to explain to the girl serving breakfast that we had to pay extra for it because she did not speak any English, and then had to go find someone to mention it to. Next to the pool is a little bar where you can get your own drinks. Fine, but 3 euros for a can of Sprite I have to get myself? I don't even pay that much on most terrasses! And it is a pity they don't serve lunch, since you can't eat anywhere nearby. If you spend a day at the pool, it would be great if they would offer a sandwich or salad. Apart from these things it is a lovely place to stay though, which I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

We spent 2 nts at this hotel early this month. Loved the views from here. The hotel is an old villa converted to a hotel with few rooms. It is a bit hard to find, past Mercatale in Campoli. A white dirt road leads to the reception area. We had an upstairs room with a great view. The room, dressing area and bathroom were huge. Although dated it was clean. The continental breakfast is pathetic. The service is nothing to write home about. The front desk folk are of no assistance in helping you find things around the villa. There are no restaurants nearby unless you drive 8-9km. There is a coop in Mercatale if you want to buy basic groceries, wines etc. Overall, a nice place if you want the true Tuscany experience with vineyards, olive groves and gorgeous views.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

Lovely, peaceful surroundings in the tuscan contryside. Nice rooms with aircon, nice pool area and very helpful reception staff. We arrived very late on a Friday night and the reception had arranged a 'package' with keys and information and breakfast the next morning. We also got some good tips on which places to visit while we were there. Breakfast ok but nothing special.
Perfect place if you want to 'get away' from daily noice - and still in acceptable distance from the main attractions like Siena, San Giminano, Greve (which we all recomend!).

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Belvedere Campoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Belvedere Campoli

Address: Via di Campoli 91, 50024 Mercatale di Val di Pesa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Mercatale di Val di Pesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mercatale di Val di Pesa
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Belvedere Campoli 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Villa Belvedere Campoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Belvedere Campoli Hotel Mercatale Di Val Di Pesa
Villa Belvedere Campoli Italy/Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Belvedere Campoli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.