We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Tuscan Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residenza d'Arte

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Residenza d'Arte to your Saves list
Residenza d'Arte
Poggio Madonna dell'Olivo, 53049 Torrita di Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Tuscan Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed at Residenza d'Arte for 2 autumn nights during an Italian road trip. The hospitality was above and beyond our expectations and Biago, Anna, and Francesca helped us through every step of our journey -- suggesting towns to see, restaurants to try, and mapping out a good route for us to complete our trip. It was truly a magical stay and everything was beautiful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    12
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
9
104
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed at the Residenza for 8 nights in October. It is a very magical place, owned and run by talented artist Anna Izzo, her husband Biago and their daughter Francesca. The Residenza is an old Monastery that has been painstakingly and beautifully restored. The rooms and grounds are extraordinary as they are filled with paintings and sculptures done by Anna. If the weather is mild you have a delightful breakfast outside under a canopy held by 8 sculptures. If the weather is inclement you eat inside on tables and chairs all made by Anna.
The service was exceptional. Every morning we would discuss where we wanted to go for the day and they would give us directions, suggestions of what to see and where to eat.
We felt like we were among family. If you are lucky enough to be guests you will love your stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose del Cabo, Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The converted monastery and setting was magical. However, it was the hospitality of Francesca, Bagio and Anna that made staying at Residenza d'Arte the highlight of our trip to Italy. They went above and beyond to make our Tuscany experience memorable for so many reasons. The touring and restaurants recommendations were just perfect. Bagio even arranged a rental car for us and drove us to the nearby town to pick it up. It is worth spending time just enjoying Anna's art on their grounds. Our rooms was absolutely relaxing, lovely and clean! We would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My boyfriend and I booked Residenza d'Arte through Tablet Hotels while looking for a relaxing weekend to spend in the Tuscany countryside. Little did I know that he also planned on proposing while there! This villa was a perfect setting for a truly magical and memorable proposal. We stayed in one of the junior bedrooms (I believe it was the Picasso room) with access to one of the back gardens. Impossible not to fall in love with the place being surrounded by nature and art.

Getting there was a little difficult as we had no car (per the previous reviews, we planned on renting one the next day with Biago's help), but we ran into a nice woman and her daughter on our walk from the train station; they graciously drove us up the small winding hill. When we got there, Biago and his daughter Francesca greeted us warmly. They found out we walked and told us that we could have contacted them to have us pick them up from the train station. We overlooked this perk, but it's a nice service they do offer, so make sure you do not make the same mistake we did walking the 1.8 km from the train station! :)

The moment you arrive, you're transported to another world -- Anna Izzo's (Biago's wife) art adorns the grounds. It has almost has an Alice in Wonderland/fantastical feel and you can just slip out of reality for the time that you're there. The lobby is beautiful, with all of Anna's art and the classical jazz that is playing in the background and the breeze of the outside Tuscany air flowing through. You can't help but feel relaxed upon arrival. At check-in, Biago helped set us up with a rental car for the next morning and gave us a map of all the local areas to visit. They also made sure to ask us if we had dinner yet and since we hadn't, Francesca immediately called the nearby restaurant La Cripta and set up a reservation for us. Since we didn't have a car the first night, Biago drove us there and we walked back from the restaurant. Although the area is very very dark and yes, next to a cemetery, it surprisingly wasn't "creepy" (and I normally get scared easily). I think the fact that Biago, Anna, and Francesca are such personable people give the villa its warmth and you are less inclined to feel like it's located in a desolate area.

The next day, we drove to Pienza and Montepulciano - had amazing food, great wine, and saw the countryside in all its glory. Everything went off without a hitch and given that we were faraway from home, Biago, Anna and Francesca were the first people to whom we shared news of our engagement. They were so happy for us and we were happy to have shared the experience with them.

As for everything else -- the rooms were clean, comfortable, and extremely private. Nice to leave the front door and rear garden door open to let the relaxing breeze through. Fun to explore the grounds and relaxing to sit in the garden with a book. The breakfast in the mornings was simple, yet delicious - fresh coffee and juice; brioches; yogurt; fresh salami and proscuitto; fruit; and homemade chocolate cake with raspberry marmalade. We loved everything about our stay! Thank you Residenza d'Arte!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We spent three nights at Residenza d'Arte in Torrita di Siena in September 2013. From the moment we set foot on the property, we were treated to Francesca's warm welcome that set the tone for a perfect stay in Tuscany. Francesca, Biagio and Anna, the owners, are the nicest hosts you can hope for: charming, knowledgeable and extremely helpful. All their suggestions were delightful, from restaurants to sights and perfect itineraries. This family owned hotel is lovely, and the property is adorned with Anna's whimsical and playful artwork. We'll be back for sure.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Leonardo room. Lovely, large space, great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed at the Residenza D'Arte for three nights last week and had a fantastic time in Tuscany. Bagio and Francesca gave us wonderful restaurant suggestions and recommended hot springs / vineyards / castles in nearby towns for us to visit. They even mapped out the driving routes for us and arranged a last-minute car rental. It's like staying with relatives - it was a wonderful experience. We woke up every morning to delicious breakfast and freshly made coffee, which we took in the lovely garden that overlooked the rolling hills of Tuscany. Everyday before we left for our Tuscan adventures Francesca would give us the biggest smile and assure us with "don't worry, we are here if you need help". Finally, on our last day, Bagio even drove us to the train station at 7 am in the morning. The hotel, gardens and the scenery are beautiful but the best part of staying at Residenza D'Arte is the people. :) Don't miss this amazing way to experience Tuscany!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Rocks Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We recently spent a few weeks in Tuscany. Due to our first choice of hotels (La Ciusa) being booked, we selected the Residenza d'Arts in Torrita di Siena, a small town that is well located to do day trips to Siena, Montipulicano, Montefulionca, Pienza, etc.
This is a really special place that caught us by surprise. We reserved a superior room at 145 Euros per night. Our group of 4, all fell in love with this charming, small hotel. The owner, Biago, Anna, and their daughter, Francesa were outstanding hosts that went out of their way to make us feel at home.
They gave us invaluable information on local sights (with 30 kilometers) to see and restaurants that shouldn't be missed.
Our superior rooms were the size of a standard hotel suite. The beds were firm and comfortable. The rooms & bathrooms were exceptionally clean with showers only. Breakfast came with the room. What was so remarkable about this hotel was it's setting. Located about a Kilometer outside of Torrita de Siena, the hotel offers spectacular views of nearby Tuscan towns and the surrounding countryside. On top of that, Anna Izzo is a well known Italian Artist who has exhibited her works around the world. The hotel, every room, and the grounds display, abundantly her beautiful, and eclectic works of art. They are well crafted and impressive, indeed. This in turn, gives it a artistic hideaway feel. I would suggest you check out their web site. If you have a car to explore the area, ,enjoy art, and don't need a fitness center, this hotel would make a perfect choice.
The hotel offers, a very peaceful, relaxing, unhurried experience with breathtaking scenery surrounding the visitor.

Room Tip: We stay in the Leonardo De Vinci room. It was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residenza d'Arte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza d'Arte

Address: Poggio Madonna dell'Olivo, 53049 Torrita di Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Torrita di Siena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Torrita di Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residenza d'Arte is a charming abode situated in the town of Torrita di Siena, a 14th century village in stone a few kilometers from Siena, Pienza, Montepulciano, and Cortona. It rises majestically on a splendid hill surrounded by cypresses and age-old olive trees, which act as picture frames for the stupendous panorama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Residenza d'Arte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza D'Arte Province Of Siena/Torrita Di Siena, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residenza d'Arte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.