We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Convento

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Il Convento to your Saves list
Il Convento
Via Passeggio Garibaldi 52, 53049 Torrita di Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Tuscania, Italy
2 reviews
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

From the first phone call to the moment I left I experienced nothing short of Excellence ... Every detail was catered to with warm and friendly service ... I actually felt more like a long lost relative than a client!
The location is just outside the entrance to the old town close to all amenities, my room was of very high standard and the breakfast was cooked by the owner and it was magnificent ..
George the hotel Manager went over and beyond the call of duty and made everything so simple and relaxed. I would highly reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    20
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
47
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

My husband and I stayed in Il Convento for five nights in early October. It was a great base for exploring Southern Tuscany, Chianti and also parts of Umbria. We flew in to Pisa, and hired a car - forgetting that Perugia, quite a bit closer, now has flights from UK too. Anyway - the hotel was great, from being greeted on arrival by the owner (school french was a common language, as our Italian is sparse!), and being shown to a very well sized room with superb views over the Tuscan countryside, to our very well cooked and tasty evening meal, cooked by the owners wife,( who doubles as breakfast hostess). Our meal started with a platter of delicious Tuscan meats and cheeses, followed by a superb Rosemary flavoured steak or a delicious duck confit. desserts were great too. The hostess for the evening was a very helpful lady who spoke fluent english, and was very helpful and knowledgeable throughout our stay.We did only eat in one night, as we tended to eat earlier in the day on our tours around, or tried the other local restaurants - The Belvedere, and The Piccolo, both a 2-3 minute walk from the hotel, and reviewed separately. Breakfasts were not so elaborate, but had a vast array of absolutely delicious tarts and cakes, all home made. Il Conventi is full of little interesting nooks and crannies, and has been lovingly and well restored - the free wi fi was very welcome. One bonus, for a B&B was a Hot tub/Jacuzzi, and Turkish Bath area, with a small garden terrace for sitting in the sunshine, or shade as you pleased. Dining room verandah was also available if needed - the weather for our stay was very pleasant, for October. The old town is interesting for a stroll, and very close by. Parking is also close, and free of charge. A great stay all round - right to the glorious butcher's shop opposite - meats and salamis to die for - all can be vacuum packed, so leave room in your suitcase!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Opened in Jan 2011, this converted convent provides an excellent base for exploring southern Tuscany. Juliano and Syria who own and run Il Convento are the most delightful, charming and welcoming hosts imagineable. Nothing is too much trouble. Breakfasts, on the panoramic terrace in suitable weather - include several sweet 'torte' cooked by Syria. Our room was reasonably sized with a good bathroom - spotless throughout. Highly recommended. 5* in its category.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

We stayed here for 6 nights using Torrita as a base for touring southern Tuscany.

The hotel is new (opened in December, 2010) and is a beautiful renovation. Free parking is convenient in the adjacent municipal lot just steps from the hotel entrance.

Immediately across the street is an excellent butcher shop, grocery, and self serve laundrymat.

Rooms are good size and nicely decorated, though slightly spartan (fine with me).

The hotel manager (Christina) and her husband are wonderful people and will go out of their way to help make our stay enjoyable. Christina speaks English.

Ask for a room in the front, if available. The view is one of the best we experienced in Tuscany.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrita di Siena
3.0 mi away
Villa il Poggio
Villa il Poggio
#2 of 5 in Sinalunga
4.5 of 5 stars 105 reviews
11.2 mi away
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclu...
#1 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
4.5 of 5 stars 923 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Rotelle
Hotel Rotelle
#2 of 2 in Torrita di Siena
4.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Villa Cicolina
Villa Cicolina
#2 of 29 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 stars 288 reviews
3.7 mi away
Albergo la Foresteria
Albergo la Foresteria
#1 of 5 in Sinalunga
4.5 of 5 stars 119 reviews
3.0 mi away
Residenza d'Arte
Residenza d'Arte
#4 of 12 in Torrita di Siena
4.5 of 5 stars 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Convento

Address: Via Passeggio Garibaldi 52, 53049 Torrita di Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Torrita di Siena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Torrita di Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Il Convento" is located in Torrita di Siena, in the ancient fortified castle of the town, next to the medieval village with the square, the artistic churches, the theater of "Oscuri"."Il Convento" from the gaze is lost to the countryside to Lake Trasimeno, in the rolling hills of the typical Tuscan landscape: a fascinating and at the same time a unique place, ideal for those who want to visit Pienza, Montepulciano, Gargonza, Siena, Cortona, lake Trasimeno, Bagno Vignoni, Montalcino, Mount Amiata, Val D'Orcia, all places visited during the day.The three floors are connected with a lift without architectural barriers. At guests' disposal: the relaxation room, a large panoramic terrace and the small chapel is still consecrated.Upon reservation, in addition to restaurant service, you can make a wellness program (turkish bath, jacuzzi), organize visits to wine cellars, cycling or scooter, horseback riding, cooking classes, painting classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Il Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Convento Province Of Siena/Torrita Di Siena, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Convento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.