We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There is no place better...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Siena House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Siena House to your Saves list
Siena House
Localita Pietrabianca 140 | Podere San Carlo, 53049 Torrita di Siena, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“There is no place better...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My husband and I spent two weeks in Italy for our honeymoon- 4 nights of which were at the Siena House. We have done a fair amount of travelling in our lives, and have never stayed at a better place than this. Of course the location is perfect for exploring the Tuscan countryside- but it was the people and the service that really set Siena House apart as the best of the best. The proprietors are a class act and know exactly how to run this house- we have privacy as needed, interaction as needed, wonderful breakfasts cooked by the owner set out looking over the vineyards, and delicious dinners either at local restuarants or dinners that we chose to cook with other guests that we befriended in the guest kitchen after picking fresh produce from the guest garden and drinking the local wines procured by the owners. I am the type of person that never likes eating at the same restaurant twice, let alone going to the same vacation spot or hotel twice (as there is so much to see in the world), but I honestly cannot wait to come back to Siena House. This might just be the most romantic place on Earth.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Cortona room- it has a wonderfully oversized bath tub looking out two directions in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
171
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We were there in the Summer of 2012. The house is beautiful, the hosts warm and inviting. The breakfasts were delicious, the housekeeping pristine. The room was tremendous, bath in the middle, stone shower. Our hosts just keeping making things easy, directions, reservations, anything. The views from our window of a vineyard were beautiful. The pool is great, in fact it was like our own private pool since there are only four couples there at a time. Make sure you drive around the back roads of Tuscany, a GPS is a necessity so you won't get lost. This was the best part of our Italy vacation. Well worth the price. Go!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We had a wonderful late summer holiday at the end of August at Siena House and photos I posted online were described as surreal by my friends. Great to have a pool on those hot days in August. Amanda and Malvin were extremely helpful in recommending restaurants, supermarkets for local produce, a local coop to buy a truffle slicer and an introduction to a local truffle supplier who came bearing a bag of earthy produce. They also helped us translate when we ran into a tiny car mishap along the way to them. Much has been said about the decor of the house but I'll say it again, it's stunning and very modern. Great Frette towels. Suffice to say, we didn't want to leave and hope to return for a week's uninterrupted stay next time and bring back some art!

Room Tip: We stayed in the smallest room but it was still very lovely, hope to score one of the bigger rooms t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

First of all, everything the reviewers have said is true. Our visit to Siena House was so wonderful and exceeded my very high expectations. We visited the last week of October, and while we did not get to enjoy the pool and some of the warmer weather amenities, trust me when I say Siena House in the fall is simply lovely. One amazing touch -- heated floors throughout the guest rooms... just one small example of the level of attention to detail. The linens were lovely and the toiletries were very nice as well. We enjoyed many hours by the wood burning fire, and even had the chance to roast chestnuts, which were in season. Breakfast was amazing... bread made fresh every morning, along with another special treat each day -- brownies, pear muffins, etc. Fresh fruit and fruit juice and coffees and teas. And homemade jams, to boot! A previous reviewer described Malvin as having the perfect level of attentiveness, and I could not agree more. Quite simply a perfect Tuscan experience. You will not regret a stay at Siena House... we will be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This B&B was a real highlight of our honeymoon - we preferred it even compared to our castle stay in Florence and big name hotels like the St. Regis in Rome! Our room, Montepulciano, was absolutely gorgeous; and we loved the communal living room (where guests could warm themselves and roast chestnuts by the fireplace), the beautiful little interior design touches (like Amanda's paintings in each room) and the lovely garden area (with its hammock and friendly house cat!)

Amanda and Malvin are so incredibly hospitable! One highlight was definitely the homemade breakfasts, which were a veritable feast of homemade breads, jams, cappuccinos, yoghurts, fruit cups and Malvin's daily baking - everything from vanilla Portuguese tarts to the most decadent brownies. Amanda and Malvin were always on hand to give excellent day out suggestions and help with bookings - their 'Cheat Sheet' with GPS coordinates to nearby towns and attractions was a real godsend! When my husband and I bought a lamp from an antique shop in Arezzo, Malvin and Amanda even went out of their way to help us communicate with the shop owner, who couldn't speak perfect English, and helped us to follow up even when our stay had ended.

In short, everything was simply perfect and we never wanted to leave! Loveliest B&B ever!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Immediately upon entering the Siena House, we felt both welcome and honored. Malvin inquired about our trip and poured a glass of prosecco which we enjoyed. The generosity, quality and ability to see things from the guests perspective is truly what makes our experience a "must do again"!

The outside views are as they say here bellisimo! Inside is keenly decorated with Amanda's artwork and Superior style. If you're worried about getting around, don't be, Malvin gave us a gps along with a list of great local places to try both to experience the culture, to eat and to enjoy. Further there is a great iphone app that permits you to speak English and it will translate for you verbally in Italian. Many folks speak English here anyway.

Although this BB is nestled in a lush country side, it is located between both north and south and east and west main motorways so once we got used to the traffic circles (not many traffic lights here) it was no problem for us to drive from Venice to get here or to the Uffizzi once we got here. But there is plenty to do close by this dynamo. Our two favorite spots so far Pienza and Arezzo.

The owners here are foodies like us so we enjoyed eating at Forcillo and IL Fornacino but you won't be sorry with the breakfasts at this B&B- fresh out of the garden herbs, fruit, breakfast cakes, prosciutto parma not to mention the amazing cappuccino YES refills!! That's all for now!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We are now just back home in Australia having spent the last three weeks in Italy. We wanted to take the time writing our review for Siena House, to give it the justice it deserves. To put you in perspective, we booked Siena House (Cortona Room) over a year before we stayed there and based the rest of our three week trip around our much anticipated 5 days at Siena House, celebrating our anniversary and the first trip together without children in 15 years! Our 'stay' at Siena House was actually an amazing 'experience' - all thanks to the wonderful and unique service, hospitality and atmosphere so cleverly and seemingly effortlessly provided by our very special hosts Malvin and Amanda. Each day culminated in a wondrous journey through reconnection with nature, beauty, landscapes, aromas, feasts, wines, art, exploring, resting, walking, cooking, eating, laughing, napping, new friends, fireside night caps, simply delicious homemade gourmet breakfast delights, recipe exchanges, history, geography, languages,writing, reading and romancing...AND... that's before we even ventured away, out of Siena House! It was all this..and so much more. Many have described the stunning beauty of the location, the jaw-dropping villa and Amanda's clever and artful interior decorating, Malvin's dedication to his cooking and ingredients and their garden, his helpful GPS, and all their spot-on daily suggestions and bookings, making each day a sure-fire great experience at whatever pace you are at that day. In hindsight, we realised we didn't thank Malvin and Amanda enough for so many extra little services which they both quietly attended to and provided, ensuring our holiday was seemless. We will always hold a very unique memory of Siena House, and that was on our last night...we all cooked up an Aussie BBQ on the wood-fired weber, under the sparkling stars and shared the meal with Amanda, Malvin, little Scarlett and some other guests, Tuscany-style over a fabulous evening with some great local Brunelli wine! And of course, we purchased the meat from the world-famous butcher and restaurant on the cattle property nearby (we have reviewed this separately!).Thankyou Amanda and Malvin and Scarlett - you have all left a little bit of Tuscany in us..and I know our paths will cross again at Siena House. Our warmest wishes, Anna and Mark xxx (ps - the saffron harvest looks great...Mark was thrilled to see the pics!!)

Room Tip: Cortona,for the stunning sunrise, the bath, the space, the comfort and outlook. But they are all gor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Siena House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siena House

Address: Localita Pietrabianca 140 | Podere San Carlo, 53049 Torrita di Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Torrita di Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Torrita di Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely old Tuscany on the outside, easy modern living within. Playful, functional and comfortable. Imagine the dream home that Holly Golightly and Peter Rabbit might share... and you've got the feel of the place ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Siena House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siena House Hotel Torrita Di Siena
Siena House Province Of Siena/Torrita Di Siena, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Siena House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.