We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of our honeymoon!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Siena House

Save Saved
You added Siena House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Siena House
Localita Pietrabianca 140 | Podere San Carlo, 53049 Torrita di Siena, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bubbly On Ice
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Highlight of our honeymoon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed at Siena House in the second week of September for our honeymoon. My husband and I had been travelling through Tuscany and Siena House was our favourite spot. We knew that the rooms and the location would be marvellous given the high recommendations on Tripadvisor and other websites but Siena House went beyond our expectations. It was the little touches which made this stay so wonderful. I had been hoping for some modern touches in a sea of rustic spots and Siena House was just that. Location was also fantastic as it allows you to travel to nearby spots like Montalcino, Siena, Cortona,...

Malvin and Amanda also struck the right balance between being perfect hosts and giving us our privacy. They provide you with a GPS and local recommendations. I would highly recommend Siena House and we are looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    187
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
157
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Sienna house is the most wonderful place to stay. As others have mentioned, the warm reception from Malvin and Amanda makes you feel instantly at home. The location is ideal for exploring the beautiful Tuscan hilltop towns nearby, which Malvin has programmed into sat-navs he gives to guests to help them find their way around. Each room is slightly different and tastefully decorated by Amanda. The house combines the character of an old farm building with modern 5-star art studio to create a truly unique experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Recommended by friends, Siena House exceeds all expectations. Great rooms are expected, great breakfasts and proximity to local scenic spots are expected, but its the little extras here that make a return in our next European travel plans a must.
GPS supplied with all the local spots locked in, many books on the local sights, the special kitchen for exclusive use by guests looking to avoid yet another restaurant, a cold beer in the fridge, recommendations for out of the way restaurants just make the 5 stars all add up. As does the use of a wonderful large vegetable and herb garden.
Being away from the cities helps. In the countryside we can relax with a book looking out over vineyards, olive groves and view the Tuscan landscape, or indulge in a pool swim.
Malvin and Amanda are wonderful, thoughtful hosts, never intruding but always there with whatever is needed, making us feel completely comfortable in their beautiful home.
It is hard to leave and we certainly hope to return to this little slice of heaven on a hillside.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Siena House is the coziest, nicest and the most beautiful place we have ever visited. As a part of our honeymoon, we stayed here for 4 nights, and regretted that we had not booked it for all of our two weeks in Italy.

The house is a large brick-house with four absolutly awesome rooms, each with it´s own personality. There is everything you need to feel comfortable, without being overly luxurious for no reason.

When we arrived there was a prosecco (italian bubbly wine) chillin in our room, yay!

There is loads of things you can do in the area, but just to stay by the saltwater pool, on lovely sunbeds, reading a book in the shades from the trees turned out to be a favorite activity. For lunch you can pick your own veggies in the garden, and make some delicous pasta or whatever in the guest kitchen in the garden. There is also room in the fridge if you want to buy some local foods and DIY dinner.

Nearby (driving distance mostly) there are many good restaurants, vineyards and other activity.

Go here if you want a genuine relaxing vacation, and if you want to feel like you are visiting friends, thats soul purpose is to make you feel at home.

We looooove Siena house, and want to go back asap. We discussed if we should keep this gem a secret, but found out that Amanda and Malvins hospitality needs to be shared:)

Until next time, dear Amanda, Malvin, Scarlet and Patrice, all the best,

Anders & Hanne Lene

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Yes, Yes, Yes! Every good thing you read about Amanda, Malvin and their wonderful home is absolutely true! We have just returned from our second stay at Siena House (7 glorious nights) & are already planning our third! Not only is Siena House, it's surroundings and the owner's up there with perfection itself - the location is brilliant for exploring the breathtaking Tuscan countryside rich with beautiful hillside villages, vineyards, offering free wine, oil & cheese tastings and towns with piazza's, churches and gorgeous restaurants. The areas of Umbria and Lazio with their very different but equally stunning scenery and attractions are also within easy reach. Florence can be visited as a day trip, saving you the stress and cost of booking a hotel with car parking (an absolute must when visiting Florence). All this said, we definitely would not have thought of visiting so many fabulous places if it were not for Malvin and Amanda's 'spot on' recommendations. So from us to Italy's best hosts - "We look forward to seeing you next year!"

Room Tip: All rooms are fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Perfection!! The most beautiful Tuscan home that has been decorated impeccably. Just gorgeous. The house is built in the most perfect spot with breathtaking views everywhere you look. We stayed in the Siena Room which was very spacious and comfortable... The highlights being the AMAZING furniture and gorgeous views.
Malvin and Amanda are wonderful hosts. Malvin greeted us with a glass of prosecco and a great introduction to the area. They had wonderful info sheets with restaurant recommendations, parking help and blurbs about all the Tuscan towns... They even had a GPS we could borrow! Very thoughtful! Breakfast was just scrumptious... Especially Malvin's delicious freshly baked bread! There was also a kitchen for the guests to use, stocked with everything you could think of... Pasta, wine, tea, coffee and more.
We had a lovely stay at Siena House and I would recommend it without hesitation... It will not disappoint. Thanks for a great stay guys!

Room Tip: You cannot beat the views of the Siena Room! beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colne, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed at Siena House for 8 nights of our 16 night honeymoon and actually would have been more than happy to have spent the whole honeymoon there. We agree with all that has been said before, Malvin and Amanda made us very welcome into their lovely home and as soon as we arrived we felt totally relaxed. We visited Montepulciano, Cortona, Pienza, Arezzo and several lovely restaurants recommended by Malvin and Amanda. We also spent lots of time cooling off and relaxing in and by the swimming pool. We cooked several meals in the guests kitchen and really enjoyed the fabulous breakfasts. We stayed in the Montepulciano room which has wonderful views and where we had the best sleeps ever!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Siena House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siena House

Address: Localita Pietrabianca 140 | Podere San Carlo, 53049 Torrita di Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Torrita di Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Torrita di Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely old Tuscany on the outside, easy modern living within. Playful, functional and comfortable. Imagine the dream home that Holly Golightly and Peter Rabbit might share... and you've got the feel of the place ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Siena House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siena House Hotel Torrita Di Siena
Siena House Province Of Siena/Torrita Di Siena, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Siena House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.