We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a View :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Follonico 4-Suite B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Follonico 4-Suite B&B to your Saves list
Follonico 4-Suite B&B
Localita Casale, 2, 53049 Torrita di Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a View :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Wow! is how I will start this review :) but to tell you about the start of our holiday to Tuscany would do a disservice to Follonico, Fabio and Suzanne. All I will say is do not fly into Rome (choose Pisa) and make sure your hire car is sorted properly, But after much travelling by train (and help from Fabio on the phone) we arrived at the train station in Torrita di Siena and were picked up by Fabio.

After asking us about the day he said to us 'Don't worry, we will help you turn the wheel'

And that they did, Fabio and Suzanne made our holiday from this point they went out of their way for us to make sure we had an enjoyable time, cooked us three lovely dinners and the breakfast is amazing, damn they can cook and the wine is good to :).

I could go on for hours about this place, the rooms where spacious, clean, comfortable...the bed was REALLY comfortable, the surrounding area is beautiful the rolling hillside goes on for ever with two medieval villages within walking distance (1-2 hours, also these can be seen on a clear day from the House) which have some great restaurants, the locals are friendly and it's just a wicked atmosphere with some truly stunning views whichever way you look, you really can just get good and lost walking through this amazing place.

Would definitely go back, would highly recommend it to anyone looking to enjoy a real Tuscan experience, a romantic getaway, or even somewhere just to go and relax in peace (it's sooooooo peaceful and quiet).

It's Awesome!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    12
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
24
153
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We stayed here last summer and have been meaning to review for ages. This is the first time we have ever reviewed anywhere, but we loved Follonico so much that we just had to! Just a beautiful and relaxed place to stay, the surrounding area is beautiful, Suzanne and Fabio were extremely helpful in giving us recomendations for places to visit and restaurants etc, even booking them for us. All of their recomendations were great too. Breakfast was amazing, the whole experience was just wonderful and we cannot fault it. We loved it so much we have just booked a return visit in the spring, would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

This is not a hotel. It is actually an old stone house turned to be a charming bed & breakfast. The essence of staying here is to be among the farm and vast vineyard with simple but adequate convenience and pleasure provided by the owner, Fabio, and his wife and kid and cat and dogs and ducks and donkey and...etc. They treated us like we were their family members. Well designed bedroom and bathroom--very clean indeed. For breakfast, we had cucumber quiche which made from cucumbers picked from the very own front yard. Very fresh and delicious! This is a perfect Tuscan get away and I hope to come again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I can't imagine a better setting in the Tuscan countryside. The farmhouse is ancient and lovingly restored. It is very cozy, roomy, and gracious all at the same time. The hosts are fantastic - they went above and beyond to help us with our travels and to make us feel at home. Four adults and a toddler in our party, and each of us was beautifully taken care of. The location is also unbeatable - fairly-tale medieval towns on practically every nearby hill-top. Monepulciano, Montefollonico and Pienza all within a short drive. Arezzo and Florence about an hour away. I would highly recommend Follonico to anyone passing through the area, or looking for a home-base for day trips.

Room Tip: We had Blue Notte, which was beautiful and private. Didn't see the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Idyllic. We had the most wonderful stay. The setting is like something out of a fable or a dream - vineyards, hills, and the picturesque villages of Montepulciano and Montefollonico right before you.

The food is outstanding, and the sensitivity and responsiveness of the hosts unparalleled in our experience. Excellent for children and artists - both of which we had in our group.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Once again thank you to "Follonico" for a marvelous weekend stay!!! Whenever I need a quiet "recharge of my batteries" away from the stress of city life, even 2 nights spent in Tuscany at this lovely B & B does the trick!!! This time I have come late fall: my room was waiting for me, warm and comfortable as always!!! Located in the quiet countryside, embraced by the vineyards around the property turning reds and yellows, the crisp cool air, a sky with the bright stars in the black night and the twinkling lights of Montepulciano and Montefollonico in the distance!!! A delicious dinner provided if one asks ahead.....with a bottle (or two) of excellent Tuscan red!!! A weekend here would certainly make a perfect Christmas gift idea!!! I can't wait to come for a longer stay in order to have the time to explore more of the sights in the area. I can especially recommend the 2 famous monasteries nearby: Sant'Antimo Abbey and Sant'Anna in Camprena (of 'The English Patient' fame), both locations impressive, romantic and unforgettable!!! Looking forward to returning to "Follonico" very soon!!!!
[A Texan now living and working in Rome]

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

What a beautiful spot. I can't say enough about the wonderful views of Tuscany and the charming old farmhouse itself. The bed was extremely comfortable, and the jacuzzi tub outside was also a huge plus. Unfortunately, there were some downsides to the property: the frigid air temperature of our room, lack of hot water, in addition to the unrelaxed nature of the proprietress which affected our overall experience. When showing us the room, the proprietress said not to touch the thermostat, even though the heat was very weak and we had just been caught in a big rainstorm. I know electricity is expensive but depriving your guests of warmth is not the friendliest of welcomes. Trying to warm up, I ran the shower but it never really got hot. We only stayed one night, and yet on the morning of our departure we were made to feel rushed. While finishing packing, almost ready to go, Susana came to the door and asked if she could collect the sheets for the wash. We were 5 minutes from leaving but she couldn't wait. It was not a huge deal, but merely an example of the unsettled vibe of the place, that of hurry up and go already, which I noticed others have also noted in their reviews. Based on these things, I wouldn't return and couldn't honestly recommend this property to any friend.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casale1826, Proprietario at Follonico 4-Suite B&B, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dearest Jocelyn

we are very sorry for your overall impression and we would like to apologize if having caused it by accident.

On the other hand we are also wondering why you have forgotten to mention the following:

- free upgrade from standard to Suite
- as you said you came in a rainstorm and didn't want to go out for dinner and we courtesely made a dinner for you at 21.00
- you came to me at 23.30 asking me for the hot water and i told you that it would take a couple of minutes due to lenght of the pipes. At 1.00 am the shower was still on. 90 minutes under a shower..... it sounds a bit strange for a not comfortable shower. don't you think so
- you stayed only one night but as you came to ask for the hot water why didn't you mention about the heating. no words at all.

We really do not know what to do sometimes cause the most we do the most people do not appreciate it. Perhaps there is a different philosophy that leads our lifes and sometimes we do not fit to the place.

Wishing you all the best
Fabio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Follonico 4-Suite B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Follonico 4-Suite B&B

Address: Localita Casale, 2, 53049 Torrita di Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Torrita di Siena
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Torrita di Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Follonico 4-suite-B & B welcomes its guests with bed and breakfast in a landscape of absolute beauty; a valley characterised by all the elements typical of the Tuscan landscape: vineyards, pastures, small forests, wheat fields, olive groves, white roads and cypresses. Two charming hilltop towns are a short distance away: Montepulciano (The Pearl of 500) and Montefollonico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Follonico 4-Suite B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Follonico 4 Hotel Torrita Di Siena
Follonico 4-Suite Bed And Breakfast
Follonico 4-Suite B&B Province Of Siena/Torrita Di Siena, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Follonico 4-Suite B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.