We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotelito Lupaia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotelito Lupaia to your Saves list
Hotelito Lupaia
Localita Lupaia N.74, 53049 Torrita di Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Valletta, Malta
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

A sweet hotel in a lovely area. Great views, very nice pool area, friendly staff.... Nice breakfast.... The negatives - rooms are ok but not wow, wifi only in lobby and the dinner in hotel is nothing great so often ate out...but over all an enjoyable stay and would happily go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    20
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
22
93
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

My husband and I spent 4 nights at the Lupaia and I can't recommend it enough. We stayed in the Rosso suite, with spectacular views of Montepulciano. The room was beautiful. Impeccably clean, very big and cozy. The breakfast was absolutely delicious. There were like 5 or 6 fresh-baked pastries to choose from (apple cake was our favorite, but there was also muffins, apple streusel, cookies, plum cake, etc). They also served fresh fruit, local pecorino cheese, and capuccinos that were all delicious. I don't eat eggs, but my husband said his poached eggs are the best he's had. We had dinner there one of the nights (we had to let them know that day if we'd be staying) and it was our best meal of the trip. The cauliflower flan that was served as the appetizer is one of the best things I've ever had. I was served a braised beef with a gorgonzola sauce that was to die for. And the custard dessert was delicious. The wine the chef recommended was also very good.

Christine is wonderful and helped us with everything during our stay, from choosing what towns to visit, to making dinner reservations for us at wonderful restaurants close by.

Also, their olive oil bath products smell great.

It is definitely off the beaten path... about a 10 minute drive on a dirt road. But its well worth it... the drive has sweeping views of the Tuscan hills, and hotel itself is worth the extra effort it takes to get there. The only draw-back is that you can't exactly take a nightly stroll, which we like to do.

I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

My wife and I just returned from an 11 day trip to Italy and Tuscany and the Hotelito Lupaia was the best part of the trip. We spent four nights in the Bassa Suite and it was perfection. Our private little garden overlooked the hill town of Montepulciano and was a great place to savor a glass (or two) of wine in the afternoon. Matteo and Christine are the perfect hosts and Chefs William and Claudia are superb. Easily the best food we had while in Italy. William's nightly four course dinners were delicious and creative while maintaining the local flavors and flare. Claudia's breakfasts were delightful. If we ever go back to Italy our trip will center around the Hotelito Lupaia.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed three nights at the Hotelito Lupaia and we were enchanted! The location is wonderful, across the valley from Montepulciano and with a spectacular view also of San Biagio church. The sunrises over Montepulciano are beautiful. Sure, it is not easy to find this hidden gem, especially at night, but hotel manager Christine came to our rescue, reaching us with a friendly phone call when she did not see us appear before dark. Christine, Claudia, the young and very talented baker, and Franco Maria, the creative chef who speaks fluent english, as well as the rest of the staff, made us feel welcome and well cared for. Gathering in front of the fireplace in the evenings with biscotti and wine was almost like being in a well loved living room. We took a cooking course with Franco Maria and Claudia and had a lovely afternoon in their whimsical kitchen. Each morning a glorious buffet greeted us. It was a wonderful experience and I would highly recommend La Lupaia to discerning travelers looking for a tranquil and beautiful place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson Valley, NY
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My husband and I just got back from a two week trip in Tuscany with another couple. We spent 4 nights at Hotel Lupaia. What a fabulous experience. Although the rooms were nice, the food was delicious and the views were spectacular, it was the people that made our stay so memorable. Christine, the manager, could not have been more pleasant or done more for us. When it was discovered there was a mixup with our room, she straightened it out immediately, in a most pleasant way. The wifi was not working in the individual rooms due to a storm so we would gather in the main house for Internet service. We loved talking with Christine, Didi the cook and Claudia, Didi's daughter. They were so friendly, accommodating, helpful and fun. I felt sad when we hugged goodbye after 4 days because they had become friends. We loved our time gathering by the fireplace, having tea and cookies in the afternoon after sightseeing. Someone was always cooking up something yummy in the fabulous kitchen. It was like coming home to family. And let's not forget Ginger, Christine's 16 year old dog and Sponge, the resident Jack Russell diva.
Hotel Lupaia is simply a wonderful, small, elegant yet quaint and quirky Inn. The grounds are beautiful, the pool area extremely inviting and the views magnificent. The rooms all have their own flare with unusual, and sometimes funky decorating. They were clean and had all the necessities. It is very peaceful and quiet so a good night's sleep is a given.
The breakfast buffet was huge, with all kinds of choices and the 4 course dinners were delicious.
The four of us have many fond memories of Tuscany but we always came back to talking about how wonderful the people at Hotel Lupaia were. It was such a warm and inviting place and we thank them all for our wonderful experience.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford Lakes, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Let me start by saying that most of the clientele that visits Lupaia is from Italy, which means that they're probably not as intimidated by the 2.5 kilometer (supposedly) two-lane dirt road, with very limited oncoming traffic visibility, that leads to the resort. We rented a car, as it would be almost impossible to sitesee from this location without one. We were so frazzled when we arrived that we asked for suggestions (as well as a healthy glass of wine) on how to negotiate the road if we encountered an oncoming car. We were told that we should go slow (as if we had a choice) and attempt to move to "the side of the road." People, there is no side of the road for the majority of that stretch of the journey. We are young and both drive manual transmission cars in Metropolitan areas in the states, so we're used to challenging driving, but this was extreme. This drawback became significant for us because we would not drive this road after dark, in the rain, or after having a few drinks. It really became a major deterrent to some of the siteseeing we had planned. Apparently we were not the only ones who felt this way, as a couple from Canada approached us with the same concerns. That said, we would return to Lupaia for the fantastic food, beautiful scenery, very warm staff (especially Claudia, Franco, and Didi), and luxurious spacious accommodations (Basa was beautiful), but only if we were planning on little to no driving. Of our 4-day stay, the most relaxing was the day we spent at the pool with Spugna (Claidia's cute little jack russel terrier). Spugna was also our saving grace during meals, chasing away the many stray cats that have no qualms about laying on your feet while you're dining (a turn off for those who are allergic to or just not that fond of cats). We ate dinner at the resort 3 of the 4 nights of our stay. Please note that it is possible to opt for an abbreviated menu, rather than all 4 courses if you prefer. Franco is a fantastic chef with a wry sense of humor (which we really enjoyed). The included breakfast buffet was plentiful, and the complimentary stocked mini fridge was very much appreciated. All in all, Lupaia is beautiful and relaxing, but, in our opinion, only if you intend to stay put during the majority of your visit.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

What an amazing experience! We stayed for my 30th Birthday and to celebrate our 5 year wedding anniversary. The room was amazing, so comfortable! We arrived and easily followed the signs down the dirt road to the little hotel. We were greeted by the friendly manager and taken to our room even though we arrived a few hours early, it was already ready! We headed out to explore the rural countryside around our room, and then relaxed by the beautiful pool. For dinner we decided to stay at the hotel and dine in their main room. We had the most incredible 4 course meal and wine. Claudia who served us was fabulous and we learned about her home region of Umbria and the Tuscan life. I was so surprised because as the head baker she brought out a heart shaped birthday cake and candle for me to blow out. She said she made it in a heart so that it was for our anniversary celebration too! Which was so thoughtful and special! The breakfast was also incredible and we only wished we had planned stayed more than one night! Someone called it a fairytale and we concur!

Room Tip: We had Tadema and it was wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotelito Lupaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotelito Lupaia

Address: Localita Lupaia N.74, 53049 Torrita di Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Torrita di Siena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Torrita di Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the rolling hills of Tuscany, set between Montepulciano and Pienza, this small Borgo features a unique combination of nature and history, blended in total harmony. Set on a small hilltop, Hotelito Lupaia offers enchanting views over the surrounding hills and medieval villages from all its charming rooms and suites. Each accommodation has an independent entrance and either a private terrace or garden, featuring all modern comfort, while being unique in its style, decoration and details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotelito Lupaia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotelito Lupaia Hotel Montepulciano
Hotelito Lupaia Province Of Siena/Torrita Di Siena, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotelito Lupaia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.