We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true (and well) hidden gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotelito Lupaia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotelito Lupaia to your Saves list
Hotelito Lupaia
Localita Lupaia N.74, 53049 Torrita di Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“A true (and well) hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

If one doesn't know about this place it's literally impossible to just "run into it".
Well hidden amongst the slow Tuscan valleys nearing Montepulciano, tucked away in a wooded patch of the otherwise very open surrounding décor, Hotelito Lupaia is primarily a romantic place. Couples that are in love, in search of it or simply enjoying each other's company and the extraordinary landscape will have a blast.
Everything from the surroundings, the communal room serving for dining room, lounge, kitchen, breakfast nook, bar, coffee shop and manager's office, to the picturesque little fenced yards of every one of the totally differently shaped and decorated rooms (10-12 in total I think) and the very personal and familiar service of local people is suggesting romance and peaceful relaxation. The peace of the night it's only disturbed by crickets.
A perfect hideaway or a pit stop of the detail oriented Tuscan tourist.
The general feel it's one of 18th century Tuscan farmhouse, complete with authentic antique furniture, decorations, bathroom fixtures and even the recipes employed by the chef who cooks in full view right before the food is laid on one's plate.
Despite the authenticity though, one benefits of all the modern facilities: there is gsm access, internet connection in the communal room, a very cozy swimming pool (next to the organic vegetables garden), individual A/C and heating for each room, satellite TV, etc. The staff treat all guests like family, the food is excellent and the position in Tuscany ensures memorable wines. Close-by attractions include the picturesque medieval village of Montepulciano, 5 km away featuring alternative dinner options and a plethora of wine and souvenirs shops, and of course the whole of Tuscany attractions within a half a day or one day trips. A fantastic place where I will gladly return as much as I can.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    20
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
23
100
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire, UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Just back from 7 nights at the Lupaia. Where to begin? Well, one of the best holidays we have ever had and certainly never experienced anything like it. Do not be put off by the 2.5km track down to the property, it is more than worth it and not at all difficult driving. Lupaia was indeed a fairytale come true. The rooms are wonderful and the fabulous views beyond belief. More than that however is the real charm, enthusiasm and friendliness of all the staff in particular Claudia who is a ray of sunshine, her mother and Franco who is a fantastic chef Perfectly situated for visiting all the sights of Tuscany and when you need a break a lovely pool with ample sunbeds and umberellas. The food is simply amazing and have never had such a choice at breakfast even at some world-class hotels. If you're going to Tuscany you must stay here. Wonderful, marvellous, enchanting etc.etc. One small negative was the cats. There are lots and they are no bother at all but they do need a good health-check and some radical speying. Thank you all at Lupaia - we WILL be back!.

Room Tip: We stayed in a standard room (a tiny bit cheaper but still enough) with wonderful views of Montepulc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful location with dramatic views of Tuscan countryside and vineyards. The gorgeous pool is relaxed and peaceful with complimentary water in a fridge and comfy hammocks in the shade for a little nap. Our room was unbelievable with tremendous attention to detail and country chic class. The staff cannot do enough to help and nothing is a problem. We felt relaxed and special and were helped with directions and things to do.
At breakfast I've never seen a table filled with so much colour and delicious food! Perfect. Beautiful xxx

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is different, really different, which is what makes it so special.

The location can't be beat - perched on a hillside surrounded by rolling Tuscan countryside, with Montepulciano in the distance on one side, and Montefollonico on the other. The setting is quintessentially Tuscan - a main house and various out buildings which have all been converted into rooms - and with nothing very close by, it feels secluded and private. Having said that, it's in close proximity to Florence (90 minutes), Siena (50 minutes), Perugia (60 minutes), so it's a great option for exploring the area, or even a country break between cities. A car is a must if staying here.

As other reviewers have said, each room is individually decorated in a creative and original Italian style. We stayed in the Blu room and it was truly beautiful - dare I say almost magical - and is probably one of my most favourite hotels rooms we've ever stayed in. The Blu room doesn't have it's own terrace, but as it's located on the top floor of the main building, it has stunning views if the surrounding area. The provided olive oil toiletries were lovely.

The food was really nice. The breakfast is a huge selection of freshly made baked goods, cheeses, ham, fruit, and eggs to order. We had delicious salads one afternoon for lunch, pool side, and we ate dinner twice there. Dinner is four courses, or less if you prefer, and they have a very good wine list. We went wine tasting in Chianti one day and bought several bottles of wine, and were pleased that the hotel didn't charge us corkage when we had one of the bottles with dinner. Despite the great food, I'd recommend you venture out to try some of the excellent restaurants in the area, which are worth the drive to get there.

The pool is in a lovely, with several levels (one foot deep, three feet deep, five + feet deep). The shallowest level is great for sitting and reading. Each guest gets their own pool towel, and there are plenty of loungers for everyone. There are several sun umbrellas and even two hammocks - both nice additions.

The staff are all very helpful, friendly and and welcoming - the service feels slightly rustic and totally unpretentious, which fit the setting perfectly.

There are quite a few stray cats about, but they're friendly cats who keep their distance and aren't a nuisance at all. I was very pleased to see that the hotel feeds them daily, so they mostly look quite healthy. But as the colony is quite large, the hotel will need to keep neutering them and at a faster rate than they currently are, otherwise the population will keep growing.

Whist we really loved Hotelito Lupaia, had a terrific time and hope to return one day, I didn't give it five stars for the following reasons:

- The pool was quite dirty. The water was cloudy, it was full of dead bugs and leaves, and it was so cold many guests couldn't go in further than their knees. There were also some broken old loungers and lawn debris in plain site.
- The coffee is terribly weak making it almost undrinkable, which is so surprising considering the excellent food. In all my Italian travels, I have never had a bad cup of coffee until Hotelito Lupaia. Even when I ordered a very, very, very strong cappuccino it still came out like steamed milk with a splash of coffee.
- the complimentary mini-bar isn't a mini-bar in the traditional sense, rather it's a fridge in the room with bottled water, fruit juice and a few child friendly snacks. When booking we didn't know about them so we didn't feel let down, but since they do advertise them on the website, I can see how one could feel disappointed.
- my husband is vegetarian and I don't eat pork, yet our vegetarian mushroom risotto had pancetta in it. :(

There are some improvements which I think should be made, but it's still a gem of a hotel and offers guests a very unique experience.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normandy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We have just returned from the best weeks holiday we have ever had. This was thanks to the atmosphere at La Lupaia. Our room was delightful and so quiet. The hotel is situated off the beaten track so is in a beautiful tranquil setting. The food was delicious every day (along with the wine). But what really made our time there so special was the staff themselves. We were made to feel at home from the minute we arrived and didn't want to leave at the end of the week. If you are searching for a truly special holiday in Tuscany then this is definately the place to stay. Thank you to you all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This is a fantastic little hotel in Tuscany. Even photos can not capture how beautiful the atmosphere is. The food was amazing and fresh made from local produce and we felt very much at home. We would stay here again any day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lupaia, Manager at Hotelito Lupaia, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Anna, thank you for your review and for saying that the photos cannot capture the atmosphere at Lupaia.
To pleasantly "feel" the atmosphere of a place, in a different way from what we saw on photograps, is exactly what we also hope to find when we make our own travels! Thank you again, Matteo and Lupaia staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We loved every minute of our stay, from the home cooked fresh food, peaceful surroundings and attentive staff. You need to drive to get there but plenty of things to visit within a reasonable distance.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lupaia, Manager at Hotelito Lupaia, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear BelfastBelle84, thank you for having reviewed our Hotelito and we are happy you spent a nice time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back here soon! Kind regards, Matteo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotelito Lupaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotelito Lupaia

Address: Localita Lupaia N.74, 53049 Torrita di Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Torrita di Siena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Torrita di Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the rolling hills of Tuscany, set between Montepulciano and Pienza, this small Borgo features a unique combination of nature and history, blended in total harmony. Set on a small hilltop, Hotelito Lupaia offers enchanting views over the surrounding hills and medieval villages from all its charming rooms and suites. Each accommodation has an independent entrance and either a private terrace or garden, featuring all modern comfort, while being unique in its style, decoration and details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Hotelito Lupaia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotelito Lupaia Hotel Montepulciano
Hotelito Lupaia Province Of Siena/Torrita Di Siena, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotelito Lupaia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.