We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take a deep breath, look HIGH!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vigilius Mountain Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Vigilius Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Vigilius Mountain Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Pawigl 43 | Sudtirol, 39011 Lana, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Lana
Belgrade, Serbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Take a deep breath, look HIGH!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

Were you able to imagine that the check-in can begin in a gondola,
sojourn in the clouds?
Aperitif in the mountain wilderness with the sound of the harp (live)?

Totally amazing blend offers this spectacular hotel!

I'm not sure do I like it more in summer or winter, weekend or an entire
week, but I am sure that there is no season when we should
communicate with our own thoughts.
This is the right place for it!

Ivan

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    38
    7
    9
    2
See reviews for
18
131
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

If you define Luxury as being at a place, in an environment where you feel totally at peace, then Vigilius is top Luxury.
The natural environment, the building, the room, the swimming pool ... are contribute to that same feeling of natural, warm perfection.
The kindness of people at the restaurant, especially George and Angelo, enhance the quality of the food with a great, simple and benevolent service. We regularly asked for some dish adaptations in function of diet restrictions, and all of that was realized with smile and taste.
The location itself is great not only for hiking, but also for visiting the surrounding valleys.
We loved the place thoroughly !

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

No doubt, the setting, the rooms, the staff are top notch. A glorious location with access to the high mountains of the Dolomites, and access to the towns of Lana and Merano. Glorious hiking, wherever you turn. The hotel used beautiful materials in its construction, both inside and out. Elegant, and simple lines, cool woods, lovely common spaces. The breakfast buffet is nothing short of sumptuous, fresh fruits, breads, cheeses, and the list goes on. Two restaurants are available for dinners. Good, but not amazing. Menu selection needs work. No munchies to eat with beer, like radishes or nuts. So what are the other tweaks....small but meaningful. You can not control your room temperature, you need to ask them to do so. Did so twice, but not effective. Rooms can be very warm. Hangars in the rooms can not be removed from the closet, they are attached. Yikes. Only one person who "really" knows the hiking and they can be off teaching a class. No followup with us, later to find out if we still needed some help. Spa services were lovely, clothes available to purchase but no good space to try them on. So fix a few small things and it is a 5 star! We will be back, it is a hikers paradise and a glorious hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
340 reviews 340 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
292 helpful votes 292 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Vigilius is a beautiful resort & this was a return visit for us. Reached only by cable car, it presents an idyllic setting for peace, tranquility & fresh mountain air. The hotel sits at 1500 metres & offers wondrous views from all aspects. Sympathetically yet stylishly designed by architect Matteo Thun, Vigilius balances sleek modernity with tradition & environmental reverence, making much use of natural, renewable materials. Flashes of bright red in the soft furnishings & fun pieces of modern art add quirk & colour. Rooms are fabulous - contemporary, spacious, airy, & bright with one full wall given over completely to window, allowing for panoramic views of the Dolomites. Vigilius is commited to a philosophy of sustainability & green living & there are no TV's in the room unless requested & WIFI is a recent concession to client demand. The ethos here is natural wellness - there is no gym, 'nature is the gym' according to the Vigilius mantra & in line with this they offer an array of activities such as mountain biking, circuit training, hiking, & 'the 5 Tibetans', a yoga type rejuvenation exercise. Archery is also part of the programme. There is a beautiful, blessedly warm, spring water indoor pool with a small outdoor jacuzzi attached. This is also a lovely lounging space with breathtaking mountain vistas though there is no bar service, just help yourself healthy teas. There is no outdoor pool. The hotel is surrounded by forest & is a magnet for hikers, there are various delightful walks & the hotels USP is the potential it provides to roam free in a safe, natural, car free, secluded environment. Whilst Vigilius isn't geared towards children & openly states that nothing specific is offered for them, the liberty presented by acres of open forest means this is a great environment for kids to let loose. By and large it is a grown up refuge but the atmosphere is relaxed, laid back & unhushed & our little chap was made very welcome by all. Staff are professional & friendly though we experienced one exception with the young man serving pre-dinner drinks seemingly determined neither to crack a smile or offer us a second drink. On the whole Vigilius has a very good team though & a particularly fantastic reception crew. The only downside to this visit was that food was disappointing in both restaurants. We recall not particularly rating the casual stuben 'Parlour Ida' last time & our opinion didn't change with this visit. Food was dull & uninspiring. And sadly we were unthrilled by our meals in the more formal restaurant '1500' too, whereas from memory we enjoyed it very much previously. (I seem to recall it used to possess a Michelin star?) The current chef is ex- El Bulli, the menu enticing, & meals well presented, but for us, distinctly lacking in wow. Service is excellent however & both restaurants very pleasing, ambient environments. There are a handful of dining alternatives within the surrounding woodland area & it is also possible to go into Lana to dine but you are at the mercy of the cable car timetable so most people are inclined to stay put. To sum up, this is a lovely resort, well designed, well run, & an ideal spot for escapism & rejuvenation.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

small hotel that let you fill at home (only if you live in a palace)
service service service - this is a method of behavior in this hotel.
the staff really want you to get relax in the hotel and the sorounds.

Room Tip: choose the rooms with the valley panorama- but its not a "must"
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcudbright, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

A much needed short break and the choice of Vigilius was perfect. From the welcome to departure my stay was superb. A swish stylish hotel, great room on the ground floor, no need for the deluxe option. Light bright, warm, and extremely comfortable, and lots of delicious little extras. I ate in both the intimate Stube and twice in the 1500. Service and food in both was excellent, the sommelier/waiter chose wisely and realistically from a fabulous wine list. Breakfast is opulent, a great way to start days of leisurely hiking. Two doors from my room was the spa, again excellent, luxurious, relaxing and indulgent. Indoor/outdoor pool warm and inviting. Massage service was professional and relaxing. A selection of teas and tisanes in the lobby with crackling log fire, a well stocked library. One day was spent in the clouds but it only added to the magic and relax. For those in search of escape, this is the place, I will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristina B, Verkaufsleiter at Vigilius Mountain Resort, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Mr/Mrs Culmalzie,

thank you very much for ýour review and your compliments. We are are really happy, that you had such relaxing days in vigilius mountain resort. Please be sure - your compliments will be forwarded to our colleagues in kitchen, service and spa area. We are very pleased that you enjoyed all our amenities and atmosphere so much. Our aim is always to give you a feeling like coming home. Hopefully we have the pleasure to welcome you soon again here in vigilius mountain resort.

Kind and sunny regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Tropez, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed for two nights with our six month old daughter. Our room (208) with dolo view and near to the sun deck was just perfect. Highest standard. Very friendly staff and absolutely quit. The food is pricy but worth the money.
Stunning views and a perfect spa.
No gym you will have to run outside....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristina B, Verkaufsleiter at Vigilius Mountain Resort, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Mr(s) seba f,

thank you very much for your kind review. We are happy to hear that you had a wonderful time and could enjoy all our facilities here in vigilius mountain resort. Please be sure that your compliments will be forwarded to our colleagues.
As you have already mentioned, we do not have a gym, because our move & explore program and nature around our resort offer a lot possibilities and invite you to do sports in a natural setting.
We highly appreciate your review and hopefully we can soon welcome you again
best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Vigilius Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vigilius Mountain Resort

Address: Pawigl 43 | Sudtirol, 39011 Lana, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > South Tyrol Province > Lana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lana
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vigilius Mountain Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
vigilius mountain resort is 1,500 meters above everyday life. This boutique luxury resort is a member of Design Hotels and can be reached exclusively by cable car, the panoramic windows in the 41 rooms furbished with natural materials like wood, clay and linen offer inspirational views of the Dolomite Mountains and the surrounding woods. Here it is possible to open up, and draw new vigour and energy from the placid wisdom of nature, while trifles are left behind in the valley.In the spa, the infinity pool, whirlpool, sauna and steambath offer relaxation and regeneration as well as carefully selected massages and treatments, using pure and natural care products.Move & explore is the name of the sports and relaxation programme, including outdoor and indoor activities: mountain biking, hiking, nordic walking as well as yoga, 5 Tibetans®, archery and much more.Blessed with its location in South Tyrol, the cuisine is indicative of the area with two cultures: Alpine and Italian. Restaurant 1500 and Stube Ida invite to experience two different gastronomic concepts, creative international cuisine or traditional local specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Vigilius Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vigilius Mountain Hotel Lana
Hotel Vigilius Mountain
Vigilius Mountain Resort Italy/Lana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vigilius Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.