We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Owner Makes All the Difference” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum District Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Richmond
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Museum District Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Museum District Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
2811 Grove Avenue, Richmond, VA 23221   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Richmond B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“The Owner Makes All the Difference”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2008

We had a wonderful visit at the Museum District B&B because of Anna's warm hospitality. Our room was spacious and included a relaxing steam bath. However, what separated this b&b from others we have visited, is that the owner is friendly & generous, and seemed to want to get to know her guests. She even arranged for us have a history tour of Richmond with a neighborhood friend who is also a professor at University of Richmond. After the tour, we enjoyed chatting with Anna and the professor over some quality wine and an excellent and generous cheese selection. Breakfast was ample with freshly made quality croissants & other breads, bacon, eggs, a selection of fruits..... more than I could eat!

The location is great. In fact, it is right across the street from the art museum which is free. It is a short walk to Careytown with interesting shops and restaurants. Two blocks down the street from the b&b is a wonderful restaurant, but I forgot the name.

There are other b&bs with more elaborate furnishings and elegant settings. This b&b is a gem because of Anna. Stay here for her personal touch and a taste of Richmond hospitality.

  • Liked — Anna the owner
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    9
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
24
103
19
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlantic Beach, FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2008

Unbelievable! Serendipidy led us there and we found a very pleasant, interested and interesting owner, a perfect location near great sites in the fan district (museums, etc.) and restaurants, comfortable furnishing (including a steam shower AND bathtub and bidet,), scrumpteous breakfast, wine and imported cheeses in the late afternoon, wonderful bedding, ample accessible parking, fascinating wall photos and paintings and spacious rooms.

We recommended highly to anyone who wants a surprise treat and treatment in Richmond.

john and georgia goodling
jsgood_online@comcast.net

  • Liked — the owner/proprietor
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Hills
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2008

Our stay in the Museum District B&B was indeed delightful. The owner truly make us feel at home and was very helpful, frienldy and knowledgeable of the areas attractions, resturants, and shops. The wine and cheese evening will always be remembered. We highly recommend staying at this B&B - we know that we will on our next trip to Richmond.
Bob, Teri & Tyke Riggs

  • Liked — The friendly reception and atmosphere
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2008

We just wanted to thank you again for the wonderful hospitality you shared when we stayed at your home. The cheese/wine, the library, the Turkish robes, marble floor in the bath, and the steam bath were all fabulous. The breakfast was sumptuous and your attention to detail was superb! The dozen roses and chocolate-covered strawberries really showed us you truly care about your patrons. I admit to being a gastronomical snob, and I simply loved your breakfast. I must say that we have stayed at five B&Bs in the past 12 months and our experience with yours was the best by far. -RDM

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, VA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2008

I've stayed here on two occasions, once in each of the upstairs suites, and LOVED it both times. Anna is incredibly gracious and warm. The rooms are beautiful and clean, and I love how each suite offers its own special feature. The John Lane Suite has a wonderful front porch for relaxing. The Judge Rhea Suite has an excellent bathroom with clawfoot tub and an amazing steam shower.

Her breakfast is wonderful and she offers many foods to choose from. Many of her ingredients come from local spots right in the district. It was one of the first things I was looking forward to after making a second reservation.

Anna puts her guests first, and from the start I felt as though we already knew her. I'm recommending Museum District B&B to everyone I know because it has a comfortable, gracious atmosphere that offers the guest a perfect harmony of privacy and friendliness.

The person who wrote that the only troubling thing is leaving was completely correct. I'm just glad that I live an hour away so I can always plan to stay here whenever Richmond calls!

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Louiis
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2008

My note to the innkeeper says it all...

Hi Anna,

This morning while having coffee, I was thinking about the wonderful
time Leslie and I had in Richmond. Staying at your B&B, the
magnificent breakfast each morning, wine with cheese in the evening and visiting with you & your guests made our stay especially nice.

You definitely spoiled us! Both of us have shared with our friends
the great time that we had at your B&B. Thank you for your gracious
hospitality.


Take care,
Laurie

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing at all
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2008

This was the best of the scores of B&Bs where we have stayed in the UK and USA! Anna is the perfect hostess, knowledgeable about the city and willing to go the extra mile to make us comfortable. We felt like welcome guests in a grand home. It is located in a safe and pleasant neighborhood close to attractive restaurants. Each morning we were treated to fresh-squeezed orange juice and freshly baked goods. The other guests were so interesting that on several days we lingered over breakfast. We recommend Museum District B&B to all our friends.

  • Liked — The hostess and her flexibility.
  • Disliked — Nothing comes to mind. Perhaps the unseasonable rain outside.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Museum District Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Museum District Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2811 Grove Avenue, Richmond, VA 23221
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 1922 guesthouse is in the heart of Richmond's Museum and Fan Districts, the city's most vibrant and historic neighborhoods. The Virginia Museum of Fine Arts is directly across the street. We're two blocks from Carytown, a unique shopping district featuring eclectic shops, restaurants of every description (two 4-star restaurants), the historic Byrd Theatre, neighborhood pubs and live music venues. Seven minutes to downtown. Plush comfort, gourmet breakfasts and evening wine and cheese. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Museum District Bed And Breakfast
Museum District Hotel Richmond

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum District Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.