We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Thai” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chadar Thai

Chadar Thai
8030 W. Broad St., Ste. A, Richmond, VA 23294
(804) 270-9393
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #314 of 1,410 Restaurants in Richmond
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Friendly Thai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This is an awesome thai eatery. The food is fresh, and owners are always friendly. I visit at least 5 times a month.

Best Wonton soup ever.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    7
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Danielson, Connecticut
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Get the American hot if you like a good kick”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The American hot was the perfect amount of spice for someone who likes spicy food. The spice didn't linger too long afterwards so it was easy to keep eating. The wonton soup wasn't that great, kind of plain. The drunken noodle was delicious, but the chicken was a bit dry. The green peppers were perfect to counteract the spice. Overall it was good and I would come again, but I have nothing to compare it to in the Richmond area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“not fancy but real tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

So I gave Chadar a second try, and liked it much better. I ordered the steamed spring rolls (they are huge), which come with a delicious peanut sauce. Next I tried the chicken coconut soup. It was a little sweet with a tad of bitterness, and pretty flavorful with the mushrooms, cilantro and onions. Finally I sampled the chicken cashew: a mix of broccoli, carrots, scallions, onions in a slightly sweet sauce with 2 (instead of the usual 1) scoops of white rice. It's quite mild so just throw some dry crushed cayenne peppers on it. All in all, Chadar has good reasonably priced thai food.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, Virginia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Loved the red curry!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

I went here with a group of friends and we all simply loved our food. We all ordered different things to eat and our meals came in the most beautiful classic dishes. The atmosphere was enjoyable, the decor beautiful and the staff pleasant. I will certainly return. .

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best thai restaurant in Richmond!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

I've lived here for many years now and have eaten at almost every thai restaurant in the Richmond area. Chadar thai is easy to miss because it's location is not that great but the food makes up for it. The service is wonderful and food is always served fresh and is very flavorful.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chadar Thai also viewed

 

Been to Chadar Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chadar Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.