We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nasty!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Skilligalee Restaurant

Skilligalee Restaurant
5416 Glenside Dr, Richmond, VA 23228-3915
(804) 672-6200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #670 of 1,273 restaurants in Richmond
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Nashville, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nasty!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The worst Seafood My husband and I have ever eaten. First she brings out Hush Puppies and says "Becareful these are addicting". Really?? you needed a saw to cut them they were so over cooked, hard as a ROCK! Then we ordered Stuffed Mushrooms, they were cold when she brought them out but yet the mushrooms looked like they had been over microwaved. Finally the main course, I do belive the crap cakes were half raw ontop of being COLD, the cole slaw was soured. They sure do not know how to make Sweet Tea either, they have sugar water.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

40% Recommend
    4
    6
    6
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Still serving great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Group of 8, seated and attended to promptly and efficient. Great menu and specials, difficult to pick only one. Meals arrived as ordered and all were very good! Everyone enjoyed their meal, not easy to get 8 out of 8 right!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Stick with seafood specials”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Had steak with crab imperial. Potato over cooked, steak was tough, but crab imperial was good. Stick with seafood.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Seafood in Richmond, VA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This restaurant, in business for over 25 years, is still one of the best seafood eateries in the Richmond metropolitan area. We went on a Sunday night in late August, so we avoided the crowds of Friday and Saturday nights and didn't need reservations (Reservations highly recommended those nights). My partner had the Maryland crab soup as an appetizer; she said it was rich, full of crab meat, and some of the best she has had in quite a while. I had the Oysters Rockefeller, which were suburb - large oysters made exactly the "right way", which melted in my mouth. Large salads accomply all entrees. My partner had salmon, which she said was wonderful; I had stuffed shrip and a crabcake, which were fresh and tasty. Prices are moderate to high. Excellent service. You won't be sorry you dined here!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Way too expensive & food is not good”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Food took forever to come, it was warm at best, prices are way too expensive for the amount of food, very greasy & heavily breaded! We will not go back! Such a shame as there are not that many seafood restaurants in Richmond.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skilligalee Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Skilligalee Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skilligalee Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.