We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food in an upscale diner setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kitchen 64

Kitchen 64
3336 North Boulevard, Richmond, VA 23230
804-358-0064
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #133 of 1,304 Restaurants in Richmond
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Delicious food in an upscale diner setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

This place is one of those hidden gems that only the locals know about. Good thing we were visiting friends! It was unassuming on the outside but nice and inviting when you walk in the door. The food was very good and the portions were monstrous. Everything was more than reasonably priced and the draft beer specials were great. Definitely going to have to add this to the list of regular places we visit when we are in the area!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    59
    27
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Disappointing birthday lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

A group of us select our favorite places to eat on our birthdays. Today it was Kitchen 64. NOT good. None of the four of us was happy. Two people got the grilled cheese, asking for cheddar. Both got American cheese that was bland, tasting like the single-sliced packaged cheese you get at the grocery store. Very disappointing for both people as this was their favorite sandwich there in the past. One of us got the prime rib sandwich which was very greasy and bland and was described as so-so. The other got the portobello mushroom sandwich, which would have been good had it not been soaked to death in balsamic vinegar. The vinegar was so overpowering and raw. It served no purpose anyway, to drench a mushroom in vinegar. It would have been so much better letting the true mushroom flavor come out on the grill. Potato salad was bland, lacking any seasoning. The best thing going were the sweet potato fries. And, as usual, the portions were quite ample.

Although we have always enjoyed the food at Kitchen 64, one bad experience has caused us to rethink things. We will not choose to eat there again, for many moons to come.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food for a great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The quality of the food was outstanding; the type you would find in a fine dining restaurant. The portion sizes are more than adequate and the price is extremely reasonable. You definitely get more than you expect. However, the noise level was unbelievably loud. There is nothing to absorb the sound and with two large groups in the front area, we could not even hear each other talk.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food and fun waitstaff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The menu is great, so many choices. I especially love the hummus platter. Great, fun atmosphere. Meet up with friends and unwind.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, VA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good food @ Good value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Kitchen 64 is a great staple for Richmonders whom are looking for good value with nice portion sizes. The location is ideally next to the Rcihmond baseball complex and a nice stop before or after a Squirrels game. A little out of the way for a lunch during the work day, but a great weekend stop.

My family and I enjoy stopping especially for their salads, which I have to admit are some of the best in the city. All portions are large and you certaintly will not walk away hungary. Give it a try and I am sure you will find it satisfying.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kitchen 64 also viewed

 

Been to Kitchen 64? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kitchen 64, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.