We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Pub Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Penny Lane Pub & Restaurant

Penny Lane Pub & Restaurant
421 E Franklin St, Richmond, VA 23219-2205
804-780-1682
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #206 of 1,410 Restaurants in Richmond
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Authentic Pub Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

My husband and I stopped in with our six year old on a Friday evening for an early dinner. Penny Lane feels like what you would expect from an English pub, with dark wood, stained glass, memorabilia all over the walls, and soccer on the televisions. I had the bangers and mash, which came with a beautiful assortment of vegetables. My husband had the Curry (hot) and my son had the Chicken Tenders. Both of their meals came with fries, which were perfectly crisp and begging for the malt vinegar that was already on the table. We all enjoyed our meals, and the service was adequate, though nothing special. The highlight of the meal was actually dessert. We shared the Guiness Cheesecake, which is not to be missed! We will come back the next time we are in the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    68
    20
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Weekend with Family”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Disappointed. Was really looking forward to eating at this restaurant but the food was just average. One family members food was cold, another said hers was just ok, I kept biting down on something hard which I think might have been the rosemary on the potatoes. The atmosphere was great, love how the pub was decorated, waitress was attentive. Unfortunately we all decided we did not care to go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A Real Pub in Richmond!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We were delighted to find the Penny Lane Pub near the convention area of Richmond. We ate in the bar area which was one of several places one could eat here. The walls were covered with momentoes and from the ceiling hung several English soccer( futbol) banners. Traditional pub food was served and my fish and chips were very good. The beer selection was excellent and the service attentive. We enjoyed our visit and would return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere in this pub!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This was a great place to spend a rainy evening; it really felt like a pub you would find in Britain. We sat in the bar area and really enjoyed the service. I did not feel like eating what I consider to be 'heavy pub food"- so ordered the onion soup and the spinach salad. Both were fine, although garlic flavored croutons in the soup tasted a bit odd; I am used to having chunks of plain bread. My husband had the fish and chips, which was an extremely generous portion and not overly fried. The fish was fine, although he thought it did taste a bit "too fishy". However, that did not stop him from eating the whole thing! Overall, we did enjoy ourselves, and would recommend

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Ohio
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Genuine Pub Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Good selection of ales and pub food; one cider (Strongbow) on tap; French onion Soup - Don't bother (but it is, afterall, a British Pub). Warm Brie with Chutney - need to deep fry or more thoroughly bake the Brie, but the bread and chutney (Apricot & Cranberry) was very good. The Reuben - that was good stuff! The environment was very much like that in Britain, complete with soccer on the tellie. If you enjoy British pubs, you'll like this place.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Penny Lane Pub & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Penny Lane Pub & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penny Lane Pub & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.