We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soccer trip” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9826 Midlothian Turnpike, Richmond, VA 23235-4812   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$25 Off Suites
Ranked #11 of 81 hotels in Richmond
Roanoke, United States
1 review
“Soccer trip”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Just wanting to let you know there is a bar and if your in the main building be prepared for a lot of noise if you are on the first floor. Asked for a 2 queen non smoking room and when I got there found out it was over the bar and then we were put in another room which the discovered it a smoking room. Not happy!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori_Gantz-Shelton, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
I want to take the time out to thank you so much for leaving your feedback on TripAdvisor. I am so sorry to hear that you encountered some issues during your stay with the noise from the lounge. We make every attempt to assign the rooms over the lounge last however on busy weekend with a full house, it becomes quite a challenge. I am very sorry about your experience and we hope that you would come back and give us another try in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    65
    18
    8
    8
See reviews for
74
38
11
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Poole,Dorset
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel and the room was very comfortable and all the staff were very friendly and courteous. It is situated close to many retail outlets and restaurants and although it is near to a busy dual highway there was very little traffic noise

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori_Gantz-Shelton, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
I want to thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel on TripAdvisor. We strive to make every guest's stay exceptional. I am very happy to hear that my staff provided you with excellent Customer Service and that you were impressed with our hotel. We hope that you will return in the future. Again, thank you for taking the time to respond on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Point, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed there two nights in October 2013. the staff was nice, the price was good and the included breakfast was fine. But what stands out the most, is the decor.I was amazed at the work that went into the buildings. The outside had brick everywhere - the walls, the stairs, the s- shaped borders around the plantings, and the entrance posts. Then you go inside. Yep, more bricks on the inside walls, plus fieldstone accents. Our room had a dungeon-like arch on one side,and a fieldstone wall on the other side. Looking up, there were 48 coffered cells on the ceiling, plus a triangular pediment above the door. An amazing display of redundant trim work.It was as if the place used to be a masonry and carpentry school. Since I used to do this kind of work, I was awestruck at the amount of man hours that went into this place .Wherever I looked there was more detail to absorb. We enjoyed staying there, but I could see that it may be off-putting to someone looking for calmer surroundings. Having said that, we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If you Don't want to hike across the parking lot for breakfast, stay in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori_Gantz-Shelton, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time out to post your feedback on TripAdvisor. I am so glad to hear that you were impressed by the decor. We love our property and its uniqueness. Just driving up can be spell binding. Our staff takes pride in our hotel and do an excellent job of maintaining it. Thank you again for leaving your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarasota, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Staff very friendly and helpful. Big spacious and clean rooms. Above average breakfast kept clean and full. Location is close to many fine restaurants. Staff seemed happy to have us, not a inconvenience .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori_Gantz-Shelton, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you so very much for taking the time to leave your feedback on TripAdvisor regarding the Best Western Plus Governors Inn. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the comfort of our big rooms and that the room was nice and clean for you. We take pride in our hotel and the staff does such a good job. Thank you for recognizing them. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

our stay at best western governors inn was very good. being handicapped people, the staff went out of their way to help. the rooms are very large and had enough room for 2 wheel chairs. however the handicapped room isn't truly handicapped accessible, the shower is a standard tub without a shower chair. so if you need one please bring your own shower chair. the breakfast room is large and well maintained and the attendant is extremely helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori_Gantz-Shelton, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback regarding your stay. I am very happy to hear that you were provided excellent Customer Service from our Breakfast Attendant Penny who was overseeing the breakfast that weekend. I am sorry to hear that you had trouble with the bathtub however. I just wanted to let you know for future reference if you decide to stay with us again, we have shower chairs that we can provide you with. Just contact the Front Desk and we can get you one immediately. Once again, thank you for your feedback and staying with us and I look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Seldom offer a review however this establishment deserves one. If you must stay in the area I totally recommend this facility. The staff, notably Veronica, the attention to customer comfort and overall amenities are well above average. Do not let the cost of the rooms leave you with an impression. I would even recommend GovSuites to my boss.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori_Gantz-Shelton, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
I want to take the opportunity to personally thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. On behalf of my staff and myself, we want to thank you for the positive comments you posted regarding your stay with us. We take pride in our hotel and the staff that deliver such a great service. We hope that you will return to Best Western Plus-Governor's Inn Richmond, Va. in the future. Thank you for any recommendations that you do on our behalf, it is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed at this property for 2 nights while attending the Richmond Folk Festival.
Upon entering the lobby you are greeted with unusual interesting decor- red brick architecture.
Staff at front desk very helpful. The 2nd floor [main building] has both smoking and non-smoking rooms. We stayed in a non-smoking room on that floor and when you got off the elevator the smell of smoking permeated the corridor and was also present in our room. We had a nice big room with comfortable queen beds, microwave, good size fridge and safe.There is a nice breakfast room with a large variety of both hot and cold items which are constantly being replenished. If ever in this area we would choose to stay here again and would recommend this property.

Room Tip: If you want a non-smoking room , ask not to stay on the 2nd floor in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Governors_Inn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to respond to Trip Adviser with your comments regarding our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. I do want to apologize for the smell of smoke as you came off the elevator and the smell that came into your room. I will definitely look into that and see if I can find something that will eliminate that odor on that particular floor especially. Again, my sincerest apologies and I hope that will not deter you from staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn

Address: 9826 Midlothian Turnpike, Richmond, VA 23235-4812
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Richmond
#11 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#22 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a memorable stay at the Governor's Inn, where hospitality is second nature. Our friendly associates are always available to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Tastefully furnished in warm tones, rich woods, and stone masonry, the Governor's Inn creates an atmosphere of coziness and welcomed. Whether business or pleasure, you will enjoy your stay at the Governor's Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Governor`s Hotel Richmond
Best Western Governors Hotel
Best Western Richmond
Richmond Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.