We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So welcome, it's like home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9826 Midlothian Turnpike, Richmond, VA 23235-4812   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #11 of 81 hotels in Richmond
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“So welcome, it's like home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Can't say enough good things about this hotel. The entire staff is friendly and efficient. This was our third stay and won't be our last. The rooms are large and well-equipped/furnished. Breakfast area was so very clean (thank you Penny and Lauren) as were the common areas. We visit family in the area and have tried a handful of other chain hotels which were simply not worth the money. We are so very glad we found this gem and need look no further for our home away from home.

Room Tip: There are two separate buildings here. Breakfast is on the ground floor of the 3-story building wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    66
    19
    8
    8
See reviews for
75
38
12
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed in hotels all over the country and I have to say this one was unique! The hotel was built to appear older. It was fabulous! We loved the brick and stone walls in our room! Great location, great service! We would stay here again and would refer this hotel to others.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, North Carolina
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We spent the night after a high school reunion and wanted a hotel near the site. we found this Best Western which was about 4 miles away,and were very pleased. It sits a good ways off Midlothian Turnpike,so our room was very quiet. It was a bigger than normal hotel room with a King bed,desk and chair, large chair and footstool,microwave,refrigerator,and TV. Everything in the room and bath was very clean. The sink and vanity is separated from the main room & the commode and tub so my wife could do makeup,while I was taking a hot shower. Bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was in a very large room with plenty of tables. We had scrambled eggs,sausage,yogurt,make your own waffles,4 different cereals,fresh fruit, juice and coffees,and biscuits,bagels and danish. More than ample servings,and the lady was there restocking and cleaning tables and counters. Both Joe the manager, a maintenance worker and a front desk clerk as well as the breakfast lady were all very personable,greeting us,making sure we had no problems and had a good stay. When I return to Richmond for my next reunion,this will be my hotel to stay in. I recommend this to anyone needing a hotel on the Southside of Richmond. There are many restaurants nearby,and the Chesterfield Mall is a few minutes away.

Room Tip: Had a great room on the top floor--I recommend this if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Joe Joyce, the general manager, took excellent care of my family and I, made sure that we had everything we needed as well as he was extremely polite! We stayed for 3 nights and he made sure to hold conversations with us everyday and ask how we were doing. All of the staff were very friendly as well, including the woman running the breakfast room! We were by far impressed and definitely will return because of how Joe treated us, Thank you!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Joe Joyce, the manager, and the staff here go all out to make sure your entire stay is pleasant. Joe made sure I had everything I needed. He even called a local gym for me to check day rates. The motel itself is classy with wooden beam ceilings, large rooms with fridge and micro wave and comfortable beds.
I travel a lot on my job and a urban motel that is affordable and is not easy to find. Best Western Governor's Inn is a real modern day oasis as far as I'm concerned.

Room Tip: There are two sections to this location. It seems that either one is just as good as the other. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Best Western Governor's Inn recently while attending a religious assembly in Richmond. The rate was very reasonable, and the value for our money was terrific. Although it is outside the hustle and bustle of the city, there are plenty of good restaurants and other amenities nearby. A full buffet breakfast is included in the price of the room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back building if you would rather not have to go outside to go to breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on quick vacation with daughter while mother hosted by her sister & husband - who recommended hotel per close location. Funny when people have strong recommendations for hotels without staying at them. My expectations/doubts (from TrpAdvsr) were fulfilled. I would not stay here again..because other better options exist..not because was aweful-it wasn't. Just better values must exist. Cons: breakfast (tries to be HamptonInn/FairfieldInn/etc but is not); building layout goofy (seems OLD, former factory(?)-cool bones, but not for hotel) with 2 wings, 2nd w/o elevator (if you care); some clientele questionale for having daughter with (glad she slept thru fight in parking lot @ 1:30am); smoke smell strong in sections; general feeling mgmt not reinvesting, just harvesting the joint; small (but clean) bathroom, sketchy clothes closet, old HVAC unit & poor hair drier (in Rm228); understaffed front desk; have to drive to go anywhere - no enjoyable walks; thin walls (would have been bad if others noisy). PROS: very comfy beds; maid & most staff have good attitude; generally not dirty (but some smells/smoke); pool in good shape; abundent tv channels (on older tube tv); room safe (key operated); excellent water pressure; can find most anything you'd need within a 3~5 minute drive.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn

Address: 9826 Midlothian Turnpike, Richmond, VA 23235-4812
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Richmond
#11 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#22 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a memorable stay at the Governor's Inn, where hospitality is second nature. Our friendly associates are always available to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Tastefully furnished in warm tones, rich woods, and stone masonry, the Governor's Inn creates an atmosphere of coziness and welcomed. Whether business or pleasure, you will enjoy your stay at the Governor's Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Governor`s Hotel Richmond
Best Western Governors Hotel
Best Western Richmond
Richmond Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.