We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trapped by Old-Bones & seemingly "harvest" mentality” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9826 Midlothian Turnpike, Richmond, VA 23235-4812   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a $50 Gift Card
Ranked #13 of 81 hotels in Richmond
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Trapped by Old-Bones & seemingly "harvest" mentality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on quick vacation with daughter while mother hosted by her sister & husband - who recommended hotel per close location. Funny when people have strong recommendations for hotels without staying at them. My expectations/doubts (from TrpAdvsr) were fulfilled. I would not stay here again..because other better options exist..not because was aweful-it wasn't. Just better values must exist. Cons: breakfast (tries to be HamptonInn/FairfieldInn/etc but is not); building layout goofy (seems OLD, former factory(?)-cool bones, but not for hotel) with 2 wings, 2nd w/o elevator (if you care); some clientele questionale for having daughter with (glad she slept thru fight in parking lot @ 1:30am); smoke smell strong in sections; general feeling mgmt not reinvesting, just harvesting the joint; small (but clean) bathroom, sketchy clothes closet, old HVAC unit & poor hair drier (in Rm228); understaffed front desk; have to drive to go anywhere - no enjoyable walks; thin walls (would have been bad if others noisy). PROS: very comfy beds; maid & most staff have good attitude; generally not dirty (but some smells/smoke); pool in good shape; abundent tv channels (on older tube tv); room safe (key operated); excellent water pressure; can find most anything you'd need within a 3~5 minute drive.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    60
    15
    7
    8
See reviews for
65
36
9
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sebastian, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We travel from Florida to Massachusetts quite often and usually plan our over nites fairly close to 95 but this trip was the exception. I had the hotels.com book and spotted this Best Western Plus. It was about 10 miles off the interstate but well worth the trip. The hotel is a little hidden but we were pleasantly surprised!

The women at the front desk was more than happy to take my coupon( not always the case) The room was spacious and had all the amenities micro frig safe and was spotless. No lingering smell of smoke anywhere. The breakfast room was spotless..lots of choices and the coffee was hot and strong. My husband got his USA today so no complaining there. We are putting this place on our must stop list

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Virginia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

My mother and I stayed here for 4 nights while visiting family. Very clean rooms, nice front desk staff, very accommodating. Nice outdoor pool, breakfast was very nice. Lots of choices, 4 cereals, oatmeal, toast, bagels, English muffins muffins, biscuits, belgian waffles, bananas and apples every day. Additional hot items varied from day to day, gravy, scrambled eggs alternated with "little round eggs" and sausage for a breakfast sandwich. Of course, coffee and juice. The lady that was in the breakfast room as the hostess was very efficient and friendly, she was a real energizer bunny!

Close enough to walk to Olive Garden, New Marshal's will open soon, already an A.C. Moore store and Stein Mart.

I would highly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: There are two buildings. We stayed in the one where the pool is. It has two floors and there is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you very much for your review! I also appreciate your kind words regarding my staff. They all take pride in rewarding guests with exemplary customer service. By the way the "Energizer Bunny's" name is Penny!
Thank you again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

I wasn't sure what to expect from this Best Western, because their properties can be so different. This one seemed to be an older hotel remodeled and updated. It consists of two brick buildings that look very "Colonial".
The King "suite" was spacious but had a small bathroom. It was the old style with the sink inside the bathroom. Worked fine for guys, but might not work as well with ladies. The room had a microwave and refrigerator.
The breakfast was a step up from the usual Continental breakfast. We had scrambled eggs and sausage gravy one morning, and eggs and sausage the next. The rest of the bar included the usual waffle-maker, cereal, bagels, yogurt, fruit, etc. The service at the breakfast was very good. The ladies seemed to take pride in their work.
I would recommend it to anyone staying overnight or for a weekend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

Very average Best Western fare although the outdoor pool was a bonus during the heat wave. I must congratulate the hotel management on agreeing to change our room when we found that the one allocated had been used by a NOT PERMITTED smoker! the hotel is supposed to be non smoking and a previous guest had violated the rules much to the despair of the owner.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

I was not sure about this hotel being that it is a Best Western, I have had some bad experiences with Best Westerns in the past, but this hotel was very nice and clean. The staff was nice and the free breakfast was nice, for being free. I have no complaints and would stay here again. It's not a new hotel,a little dated, but I thought it was very quaint. The bed was new and there were plenty of pillows. The price is very good for what you get.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We arrived in Richmond, Va on May 22nd unannounced and were extended a room after 10:00 pm with a very fair nightly rate. The hotel was nice and clean with very large rooms. The only issue that need addressing is that the TV was small in size and difficult to enjoy as far as it sat away from the beds, but outside of that, all else was a thumbs up.

A. Mapp

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn

Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Governor`s Hotel Richmond
Best Western Plus Governor`s Hotel
Best Western Governors Hotel
Best Western Richmond
Richmond Best Western
Address: 9826 Midlothian Turnpike, Richmond, VA 23235-4812
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Richmond
#25 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a memorable stay at the Governor's Inn, where hospitality is second nature. Our friendly associates are always available to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Tastefully furnished in warm tones, rich woods, and stone masonry, the Governor's Inn creates an atmosphere of coziness and welcomed. Whether business or pleasure, you will enjoy your stay at the Governor's Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Best Western, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.