We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Motel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9826 Midlothian Turnpike, Richmond, VA 23235-4812   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$25 Off Suites
Ranked #11 of 81 hotels in Richmond
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Motel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

This was one of the cleanest motels I have stayed in. Everyday my room was well cared for. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I would recommend it to anyone traveling in the Richmond area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    65
    18
    8
    8
See reviews for
74
38
11
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights while my dad was in the VA Hospital having surgery. I can't say enough about the friendliness and the helpfullness of the staff. From the breakfast lady to the housekeeping and front desk. We will be back soon to the area and will definately stay here again!!

Room Tip: Don't pass this gem up!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

I had a glitch in the reservation process and called the Customer Service Division. The next day i was called by the manager who apologized and offered to have me stay with them at a reduced rate if i was willing. His genuine concern and offer was accepted and I booked a night which turned out to be a very pleasant experience. I will definitely rebook when I am in the area as the accommodations were excellent from the complimentary breakfast to the friendly staff.

Room Tip: The Jacuzzi room is worth the extra cost if it is available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

The room was very large and nice amenities. Also, the breakfast was good. The only complaint was the hall outside of my non-smoking room had a BAD cigarette smell.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

This Hotel is strange. It looks like a Castle in some parts (complete with bars across the dining area entrance). Wax figures. Very friendly staff. Couldn't get access to wireless in room, staff offered to move us. Clean, older rooms. Very spacious. Good hearty breakfast included. Free parking. Would come again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

I have historically enjoyed stays in Best Westerns which is why I chose this one. I made the wrong decision.

There are two buildings with rooms. I can only speak for the building behind the main one.

Observations:
- While there is an elevator in the main building there are no elevators in the back building. This is something they fail to mention.
- My room was hot and muggy on arrival, the air was turned off and made the room smell very unpleasant.
- When the internet broke, the front desk instructed ME to call the help desk to try and fix it. Customers should NOT be required to fix hotel problems.
- Business center was out of paper and the printer was broken.

This was by far my worst Best Western experience ever.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone though...at least not the 2nd building.

Room Tip: Do NOT get a room in the back building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Joyce, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Thank you for your response. I always appreciate both positive as well as negative feedback as it gives us an opportunity to make necessary adjustments. Regarding your experience with our high speed internet; I have implemented a new procedure for my front desk staff. I agree that the burden of calling tech support should not be the responsibility of the guest. Now the front desk agent will call the support number and after a technician is on the line, we transfer them to the guests room. So far guests have been very pleased as we make a follow up call to insure they have connected. We are also currently working with Best Western on a way to notify potential guests of the lack of an elevator in our annex building. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, VA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We stayed here on April 11 and had a good experience. The decor is quite rustic. The room was quiet and clean. The Wi-Fi worked well. Our family of four felt that we had plenty of room. We liked the pillows a lot better here than at the hotel we stayed at the previous night in another city. The breakfast was better than we were expecting and the attendant worked hard to keep items stocked and fresh. The location of the hotel is very central to shopping, restaurants, etc. It is set back off the main road, so it is quiet and tucked-away. It was a very good value and we'd stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn

Address: 9826 Midlothian Turnpike, Richmond, VA 23235-4812
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Richmond
#11 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#22 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a memorable stay at the Governor's Inn, where hospitality is second nature. Our friendly associates are always available to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Tastefully furnished in warm tones, rich woods, and stone masonry, the Governor's Inn creates an atmosphere of coziness and welcomed. Whether business or pleasure, you will enjoy your stay at the Governor's Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Governor`s Hotel Richmond
Best Western Governors Hotel
Best Western Richmond
Richmond Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.