We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, staff, small rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Richmond Northwest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Richmond Northwest to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites Richmond Northwest
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9937 Mayland Drive, Richmond, VA 23233   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #23 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
218 helpful votes 218 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, staff, small rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2010

Trip Advisor reviews were pretty much on target except no one mentioned just how small the rooms are. After spending December 21, 22 and 23 at the hotel, we were pretty much tripping over ourselves in the room. Other then that, the hotel and its staff were great. Fairly close to large shopping areas, it was a bit far from downtown where all the tourist destinations and the good restaurants are. Fairfield has suites, but the price and size are unknown. For the price point and having a Starbucks across the street, would not hesitate to stay again in hopefully larger accommodations.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    47
    16
    4
    1
See reviews for
46
27
13
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
US
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

All that could have been written about this place already has so a brief summary:

- The staff is nice (including the slightly hyper active breakfast attendant).
- The breakfast is good and above average.
- The hotel is clean, affordable, within 5 min of any store or restaurant imaginable and major freeways.
- Fast Internet included in price.

However, it’s not perfect:
- Soundproofing is bare; on Saturday when the place was busy, we could clearly hear people talking next room as well as the TV that was in the room on the other side. Taking shower in the morning? Very audible. Earplugs are a must if you are a light sleeper. On Sunday when just few people stayed, no issues whatsoever. Very quiet.
- The room (king) has no fridge. Big minus. I can do without microwave, but not fridge.
- Also, no body lotion. If you want one you have to go to the front desk. I guess trying to save money so bring your own before they stop providing one.

We stayed in a room facing north and away from the large commuter parking lot. No issue on weekends, but weekdays may be different story. When we checked out it was already half full but the rooms have heavy curtains and that will help if you sleep late.

I guess I expected more after the rave reviews, but still good place to stay for price that is hard to beat in Richmond ($79/night).

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

We chose to stay at the Fairfield Inn on Mayland Dr. because of the excellent reviews on this site, and the hotel did not disappoint. The front desk staff was very friendly upon check-in. The room was very clean.

We used the hot tub and fitness room while we were here for one night. Both the fitness room and the pool area were very clean and towels were provided. The treadmill I tried to run on started to wobble pretty badly around 5 mph and it shook considerably at 6 mph. So I didn't run very long. Also, there were no fans in the room, so it got a little hot... however, I did notice towards the end of my run that there was an air conditioning unit in the front of the room. Maybe I could have adjusted that.

We tried to use the high-speed internet but for some reason it was super slow. Forget opening multiple tabs... we waited and waited and waited for pages to load and finally gave up. I don't know if something was wrong with it that day or what. We didn't ask because it wasn't like we really needed to use it.

The breakfast selection the next morning was excellent and Pandora (the lady working in the breakfast area) was very friendly and helpful.

My husband and I have to come to this particular area of Richmond several times a year and will always stay at this hotel from now on.

Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath,Maine
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

This was a very nice place to stay. All interactions with the front desk were great. The pool was clean if a bit small. Breakfast had a lot of variety and the staff was great about refilling everything despite it being a busy morning. I would definatly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

We stayed with extended family to attend a funeral---the staff could not have been more helpful. The beds were comfortable---the rooms very clean---we would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

Found this hotel through Tripadvisor and we are so glad that we did. Fantastic staff, great rooms, yummy breakfast, best service I have received in a long time at any hotel. We frequently travel throughout Europe, United States, Canada and I must say this hotel and the people that work here are one of the best. We were stopping through on our way down to Myrtle Beach and would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

Fairfield Inn and Suites continues to live up to the expectations of a consistent, nice, and friendly hotel under the Marriott brand. The location is excellent and is only about 1 hour away from Williamsburg.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Richmond Northwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Richmond Northwest

Address: 9937 Mayland Drive, Richmond, VA 23233
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Richmond
#21 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Richmond Northwest 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Richmond Northwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Richmond Nw Hotel Richmond
Fairfield Inn And Suites Richmond Nw
Fairfield Inn Richmond
Fairfield Richmond
Richmond Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Richmond Northwest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.