We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still on Top!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Byrd Theater

Byrd Theater
2908 West Cary Street, Richmond, VA 23221
804 353 9911
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 97 attractions in Richmond
Type: Movie Theaters
Attraction Details
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Still on Top!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The Byrd is still the place to go for catching up on the latest movies you missed in normal theaters. You're only a couple of bucks away from family fun!! And don't forget about the infamous sounds of the organ player on saturday nights!! Warning: Try to get an aisle seat or your knees will get crushed, but even in-spite of that, the best cheap seats in town!! Good movies, great big screen!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    50
    8
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
richmond va
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A MOVIE PALACE.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is a MUST SEE for any trip to Richmond. This old movie palace takes you back to a time when seeing a film was a posh experience. Plus tickets are only $2. Be sure to go on a Saturday to see the Organ in action before the film!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Vintage!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The movies are going to be a bit old, but they are inexpensive too-$2 I think. There is an organ that rises from the floor and on Saturday nights (I think), they play for you before the movie. It is an old theater, decorated in a very grandeur style. Definitely worth the visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Wurlitzur!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We went to the Byrd theatre last week and happened to be there on the day that the Amazing Wurlitzer was there doing a Christmas Carol sing-a-long. It was the best! He came out of the stage on his organ and played Christmas Carols beautifully. For only $2 a movie definitely a bargain!

We got to the theatre 30 minutes before the show was about to start and there was already a line! So get there early. The theatre architecture is beautiful. I love going to old theatres to watch movies. The seats are pretty comfortable but there are no drink holders. However drinks and popcorn are very reasonably priced.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“It's a Wonderful Life - Christmas Eve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I think we have found a new family Christmas tradition! We have seen this movie many times, but seeing it in a theatre with several hundred people laughing made it seem brand new!

LINE TIP: Tickets go on sale 30 min before the 7:15 showing. By 6:30 the line was all the way back to the next street. There were still several seats left at showtime so I don't think you have to worry about not getting in. But getting there early gets you the seats you like and in line sooner for popcorn. They do the best they can with a large crowd, but it is a little slow.

For the first time we were able to sit in the balcony which I really enjoyed! Some people just waited by the rope at the stairs knowing they would open it up. I think we'll do the same to get the seats we like.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Byrd Theater also viewed

 

Been to Byrd Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Byrd Theater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Byrd Theater to your Saves list