We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a Wonderful Life - Christmas Eve” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Byrd Theater

Byrd Theater
2908 West Cary Street, Richmond, VA 23221
804 353 9911
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 58 Activities in Richmond
Type: Movie Theaters, Amusement
Attraction details
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“It's a Wonderful Life - Christmas Eve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I think we have found a new family Christmas tradition! We have seen this movie many times, but seeing it in a theatre with several hundred people laughing made it seem brand new!

LINE TIP: Tickets go on sale 30 min before the 7:15 showing. By 6:30 the line was all the way back to the next street. There were still several seats left at showtime so I don't think you have to worry about not getting in. But getting there early gets you the seats you like and in line sooner for popcorn. They do the best they can with a large crowd, but it is a little slow.

For the first time we were able to sit in the balcony which I really enjoyed! Some people just waited by the rope at the stairs knowing they would open it up. I think we'll do the same to get the seats we like.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    59
    9
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A Gem with a Huge Pipe Organ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Located in Carytown (a cute and semi funky area of shops and restaurants (and more tan a few bars) this building is on the National Historic Register and is slowly being renovated in a manner true to the period.

2nd (3rd and 4th) run movies are shown, with most reasonable prices and good popcorn. Organ concerts most Satturday nights draw gppd crowds.

It is not IMAX, but a good time nonetheless

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Richland Hills, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“An authentic, second-run movie-going experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This theater is absolutely STUNNING! And for $2 a movie, you can't go wrong! Saturday nights are the best time to go for a show, but be sure you get in line early... you'll likely see it wrapping around the street corner, even when you show up early or on-time. Saturday nights are extra special because Bob Gulledge plays the Might Wurlitzer organ prior to the evening show starting. It is such a fun experience, and such a crowd-pleaser. This theater is so family-friendly as well.

Once you walk in the theater, it is like being at the opera at the turn of the century. The old, crushed-velvet red chairs are not very comfortable, but it's all part of the charm. Overall, it is such a great time, and draws a young, college-age but respectable crowd.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“GORGEOUS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We love going to the byrd! It's only $2 per ticket, so we go pretty often. The building is absolutely gorgeous, definitely give it a try!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Historic Landmark”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We visit the Byrd Theatre any time we can. It is what movie theatres looked like when I was a child and is so beautifully restored and maintained. Best of all the movies all cost $1.99. It is located in trendy Carytown that is full of good restaurants and shopping. So make a day out of it walking through Carytown and end the day with a movie at the Byrd!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Byrd Theater also viewed

 

Been to Byrd Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Byrd Theater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.