We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for all, especially newlyweds!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grace Manor Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Richmond
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grace Manor Inn
Save
You added Grace Manor Inn to your Saves list
1853 West Grace St., Richmond, VA 23220   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 Richmond B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Excellent for all, especially newlyweds!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed at Grace Manor in for two nights in July 2013 and enjoyed every minute of it! The owners are very friendly and caring. The manor itself is gorgeous both inside and outside. Nicely decorated, clean rooms, comfortable beds, and calming atmosphere. The three-course breakfast was exquisite! We highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    45
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
42
339
17
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Torrington, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Our stay at Grace Manor Inn exceded my already high expectations.The home has such charm, but I think the best part was was the host Albert. The breakfast he prepared gets 5 gold forks.Also Albert has as much charm as the Inn our stay was so enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boca raton, fl
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I've been staying at B & Bs around the country for 30 years. I am hard pressed to think of one better than the Grace Manor.

Our second floor suite was fantastic, the breakfasts superb, and Albert-the host/owner- absolutely wonderful. Instead of going out at night my wife and I bought snacks and wine and just kicked back and enjoyed our room.

Our visit to Richmond was an anomaly, so no telling if we will travel there again. However, in the event that we do we know will not have to research where to stay. There is nothing that would compare to Grace Manor.

Room Tip: We had the second floor suite, absolutely fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, TN
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My wife and I spent a week at the Inn. It is a beautiful home with elegant decor. The gourmet breakfast every day was a real treat and a relaxing social event. The Inn is in a comfortable walking neighborhood just off Monument Boulevard and is conveniently located midway between downtown Richmond, Carytown and the museum district.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

It was our first visit to Richmond with the couple we travel with frequently. The rooms were spacious, the service was excellent and the breakfast was delicious. We did not realize that there was a swimming pool or we would have brought our bathing suits.

There are two cute little puppies that are very quiet and not under foot.

It was a very nice city and the manor was very close to everywhere we wanted to go.

Room Tip: The rooms were very spacious. They are more like suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed over a weekend in the Zimmerman Suite on the third floor of the inn. The innkeeper, Albert, was a gracious and attentive host and the multi-course breakfast both days was absolutely fantastic, with a third course from his and his wife's other business, Carytown Cupcakes. (Carrot cake on day #1; lemon-thyme on day #2. Yum!) The two resident Yorkies, Bear and Peanut, were very sweet. If you're not a dog person, you'd barely know they were there, but once we made it clear that we love dogs, Albert brought them out to say hi. The major pluses? A salt water pool and gorgeous, period furnishings and fixtures. The common rooms are stunning. Minuses? First, we originally wanted to stay Saturday and Sunday nights but were told that a Saturday check-in was not possible, which seemed very strange to me. But Albert was very apologetic and we altered our plans accordingly so that we could arrive on Friday. Second, though each suite has its own bathroom, none are en suite, so you have to leave your room to get to your shower/sink/toilet. There is a small sink in each suite, but that's not helpful at 3 am when you stumble out of bed to use the bathroom. Shower pressure could have been better, but that's to be expected perhaps in a house built in 1910. That said, however, the bathroom was spotless, nicely appointed, and the deep, claw foot tub was wonderful. If you're a light sleeper, you might have trouble. It's an old house with hardwood floors and if you're in one of the two suites on the third floor and the other suite is occupied, you will definitely hear your neighbor, but that's pretty standard for B & B's, so if that sort of thing bothers you, bring earplugs. If it really bothers you, you'd likely be happier in a hotel anyway. Overall, a comfortable stay in a beautiful home with an incredibly friendly and welcoming host.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We recently traveled to Richmond for our daughter's graduation and stayed at Grace Manor Inn. The décor and house were beautiful and definitely linked to the 18 century as was our room which was the Fensterer-Davis Suite. The pool/patio were gorgeous even though we didn't have a chance to use them. However, I was a little disappointed that our host could not accommodate our request to have Saturday's breakfast a little earlier so we could make it to the graduation on time; however, he did provide us with a nice continental breakfast in our suite. Sunday's breakfast was great though! He puts a lot of work into his meals! Another disappointment was that our private bath was "down the hall" from the bedroom - though I'm sure back in the early 1920's (when the house was built) they didn't build bedrooms with baths attached. Thankfully, though, we were the only ones on the hall so we did have private trips down the hall. It was a little inconvenient, though, during the night. I'm sure it was stated on the website that the bath is down the hall, but perhaps it needs to be clearer. However, the bathroom needs a serious update. I'm sure they are attempting to keep the bathroom "in the period", but there are cracks all through the flooring and the hot/cold handles in the shower are very hard to get to, not to mention the pipes are all on the outside of the wall - it definitely gave me a early 20th century feel, not to mention that the water pressure was terrible. Also, the small sink that is located within the suite (thank goodness), is way outdated and rusted and just plain...old. Other than the bathroom and sink (and I admit I like my bathrooms modern), it was a nice stay and the host could not have been nicer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grace Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grace Manor Inn

Address: 1853 West Grace St., Richmond, VA 23220
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grace Manor Inn is at the heart of the Historic Fan District of Richmond, Virginia, one block from Monument Avenue and walking distance to many restaurants and museums. The Capitol area, VCU, University of Richmond and the Greater Richmond Convention Center are all within five miles of the Inn. Grace Manor Inn had four large two-room suites with private bathes, each individually decorated with treasures from the past, and conveniences of today. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grace Manor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.