We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful breakfasts, gracious host, comfortable lodging” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grace Manor Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Richmond
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grace Manor Inn
1853 West Grace St., Richmond, VA 23220   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Richmond B&B and Inns
Raleigh, NC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful breakfasts, gracious host, comfortable lodging”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed over a weekend in the Zimmerman Suite on the third floor of the inn. The innkeeper, Albert, was a gracious and attentive host and the multi-course breakfast both days was absolutely fantastic, with a third course from his and his wife's other business, Carytown Cupcakes. (Carrot cake on day #1; lemon-thyme on day #2. Yum!) The two resident Yorkies, Bear and Peanut, were very sweet. If you're not a dog person, you'd barely know they were there, but once we made it clear that we love dogs, Albert brought them out to say hi. The major pluses? A salt water pool and gorgeous, period furnishings and fixtures. The common rooms are stunning. Minuses? First, we originally wanted to stay Saturday and Sunday nights but were told that a Saturday check-in was not possible, which seemed very strange to me. But Albert was very apologetic and we altered our plans accordingly so that we could arrive on Friday. Second, though each suite has its own bathroom, none are en suite, so you have to leave your room to get to your shower/sink/toilet. There is a small sink in each suite, but that's not helpful at 3 am when you stumble out of bed to use the bathroom. Shower pressure could have been better, but that's to be expected perhaps in a house built in 1910. That said, however, the bathroom was spotless, nicely appointed, and the deep, claw foot tub was wonderful. If you're a light sleeper, you might have trouble. It's an old house with hardwood floors and if you're in one of the two suites on the third floor and the other suite is occupied, you will definitely hear your neighbor, but that's pretty standard for B & B's, so if that sort of thing bothers you, bring earplugs. If it really bothers you, you'd likely be happier in a hotel anyway. Overall, a comfortable stay in a beautiful home with an incredibly friendly and welcoming host.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    444
    41
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
38
320
14
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We recently traveled to Richmond for our daughter's graduation and stayed at Grace Manor Inn. The décor and house were beautiful and definitely linked to the 18 century as was our room which was the Fensterer-Davis Suite. The pool/patio were gorgeous even though we didn't have a chance to use them. However, I was a little disappointed that our host could not accommodate our request to have Saturday's breakfast a little earlier so we could make it to the graduation on time; however, he did provide us with a nice continental breakfast in our suite. Sunday's breakfast was great though! He puts a lot of work into his meals! Another disappointment was that our private bath was "down the hall" from the bedroom - though I'm sure back in the early 1920's (when the house was built) they didn't build bedrooms with baths attached. Thankfully, though, we were the only ones on the hall so we did have private trips down the hall. It was a little inconvenient, though, during the night. I'm sure it was stated on the website that the bath is down the hall, but perhaps it needs to be clearer. However, the bathroom needs a serious update. I'm sure they are attempting to keep the bathroom "in the period", but there are cracks all through the flooring and the hot/cold handles in the shower are very hard to get to, not to mention the pipes are all on the outside of the wall - it definitely gave me a early 20th century feel, not to mention that the water pressure was terrible. Also, the small sink that is located within the suite (thank goodness), is way outdated and rusted and just plain...old. Other than the bathroom and sink (and I admit I like my bathrooms modern), it was a nice stay and the host could not have been nicer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We booked online from the UK ahead of our trip to the US, based on the TripAdvisor rating and weren't disappointed. The directions, provided by email ahead of our stay, helped us find Grace Manor with no issues on our first day of US driving and easily locate the private parking.

The welcome from host Albert was superb and he talked us through the history of this well-preserved house. Our room, The Shortt Suite was on the top floor and had two large rooms and a separate, private bathroom next door with shower, washbasin and loo.

The breakfasts are something else... multi-course and interesting, served in the dining room round a large table with the other guests. We really enjoyed the two nights there and wished we'd had another day or two to relax there.

You have a personally prepared and researched restaurant directory in your room and lots of local advice. This is a really nice place to stay. Quirky and interesting without a hind of Fawlty Towers in evidence, though we did joke about that!!! Look out for the surprise at breakfast!!!

Oh.... really enjoyed talking to people over breakfast......

Loved it!!!. .

Room Tip: They are all good, I understand from other guest comments. Just remember this is a Victorian house n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Large, spacious rooms with period furnishings that are beautiful and comfortable. The Inn is well kept and the breakfasts, prepared by Albert, are first class. Albert is an excellent host and he has many delightful stories to tell about the history of this magnificent inn. Off street parking is a plus and walking in the area is a treat because of all the lovely old homes. We highly recommend the inn!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Having stayed in numerous B&B's I must rate the Grace Manor Inn at or near the top of the list!!
Albert is an awesome host with lots of panache! The house is resplendent with antiques, family treasures and art. Our room, the Zimmerman Suite, was on the top floor. A bit of a climb but welcomed exercise after visiting some of the gold star recommended restaurants in the handy guide book in each room. Be sure to walk the 5 blocks to Edo's Squid! Packed with locals, college students and us! The whole fish was superb! Also great was Mekong with great beer.
But this is about The Grace Manor Inn. If you are going to Richmond you gotta stay here. We live just down the road in VA Beach but this was worth the stay over!!
And the breakfast..... Never had one better. The first day it was scrambled eggs on toast with prochutto wrapped asparagus. But that was the second course, the first was fresh fruit in a greek yougurt. And, of course the last course (ops, that's the surprise!!)
The second days breakfast was just as spectacular.
Don't even think about staying anywhere else!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

A brief trip to Richmond was greatly enhanced by my stay at this historic house, now a beautifully managed B&B. Located in the historic Fan, it has the 'old world' atmosphere and appointments that many of us who live in modern cities crave. Breakfast was at a perfectly set table in the high-ceilinged dining room with the owner cooking and serving with panache. The other guests were cordial and diverse and any questions about planning the day were very well dealt with. There was a pretty small pool with waterfall at the back of the house...very unexpected but beckoning...tempting to just sit there and read one of the many books strewn throughout the house....perhaps on another trip...

Room Tip: Bear in mind the stairs but the Zimmerman Suite was really lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waycross, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Great location near Monument Avenue and walking distance of numerous restaurants and beautiful period houses. Elegant and comfy rooms. Breakfasts were wonderful and we enjoyed chatting with the other guests. Albert was a very cordial host.

Room Tip: If you have any difficulty with stairs this may not be the best option. Also there are not individu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
Quiet, Pool, Ro...
Show More
1.2 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 stars 689 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
1.3 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#13 of 81 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 stars 463 reviews
Charming, Bouti...
Show More
2.0 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#14 of 81 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 stars 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
11.1 mi away
HYATT house Richmond-West
HYATT house Richmond-West
#3 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 stars 271 reviews
Mid-range, Pool...
Show More
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown
Quiet, Pool, Ro...
Show More
11.6 mi away
Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grace Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grace Manor Inn

Address: 1853 West Grace St., Richmond, VA 23220
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grace Manor Inn is at the heart of the Historic Fan District of Richmond, Virginia, one block from Monument Avenue and walking distance to many restaurants and museums. The Capitol area, VCU, University of Richmond and the Greater Richmond Convention Center are all within five miles of the Inn. Grace Manor Inn had four large two-room suites with private bathes, each individually decorated with treasures from the past, and conveniences of today. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grace Manor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Grace Manor Inn to your Saves list