We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brits Abroad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grace Manor Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Richmond
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grace Manor Inn
Save Saved
You added Grace Manor Inn to your Saves list
1853 West Grace St., Richmond, VA 23220   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Richmond B&B and Inns
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Brits Abroad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We booked online from the UK ahead of our trip to the US, based on the TripAdvisor rating and weren't disappointed. The directions, provided by email ahead of our stay, helped us find Grace Manor with no issues on our first day of US driving and easily locate the private parking.

The welcome from host Albert was superb and he talked us through the history of this well-preserved house. Our room, The Shortt Suite was on the top floor and had two large rooms and a separate, private bathroom next door with shower, washbasin and loo.

The breakfasts are something else... multi-course and interesting, served in the dining room round a large table with the other guests. We really enjoyed the two nights there and wished we'd had another day or two to relax there.

You have a personally prepared and researched restaurant directory in your room and lots of local advice. This is a really nice place to stay. Quirky and interesting without a hind of Fawlty Towers in evidence, though we did joke about that!!! Look out for the surprise at breakfast!!!

Oh.... really enjoyed talking to people over breakfast......

Loved it!!!. .

Room Tip: They are all good, I understand from other guest comments. Just remember this is a Victorian house n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    447
    43
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
40
321
15
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Corvallis, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Large, spacious rooms with period furnishings that are beautiful and comfortable. The Inn is well kept and the breakfasts, prepared by Albert, are first class. Albert is an excellent host and he has many delightful stories to tell about the history of this magnificent inn. Off street parking is a plus and walking in the area is a treat because of all the lovely old homes. We highly recommend the inn!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Having stayed in numerous B&B's I must rate the Grace Manor Inn at or near the top of the list!!
Albert is an awesome host with lots of panache! The house is resplendent with antiques, family treasures and art. Our room, the Zimmerman Suite, was on the top floor. A bit of a climb but welcomed exercise after visiting some of the gold star recommended restaurants in the handy guide book in each room. Be sure to walk the 5 blocks to Edo's Squid! Packed with locals, college students and us! The whole fish was superb! Also great was Mekong with great beer.
But this is about The Grace Manor Inn. If you are going to Richmond you gotta stay here. We live just down the road in VA Beach but this was worth the stay over!!
And the breakfast..... Never had one better. The first day it was scrambled eggs on toast with prochutto wrapped asparagus. But that was the second course, the first was fresh fruit in a greek yougurt. And, of course the last course (ops, that's the surprise!!)
The second days breakfast was just as spectacular.
Don't even think about staying anywhere else!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

A brief trip to Richmond was greatly enhanced by my stay at this historic house, now a beautifully managed B&B. Located in the historic Fan, it has the 'old world' atmosphere and appointments that many of us who live in modern cities crave. Breakfast was at a perfectly set table in the high-ceilinged dining room with the owner cooking and serving with panache. The other guests were cordial and diverse and any questions about planning the day were very well dealt with. There was a pretty small pool with waterfall at the back of the house...very unexpected but beckoning...tempting to just sit there and read one of the many books strewn throughout the house....perhaps on another trip...

Room Tip: Bear in mind the stairs but the Zimmerman Suite was really lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waycross, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Great location near Monument Avenue and walking distance of numerous restaurants and beautiful period houses. Elegant and comfy rooms. Breakfasts were wonderful and we enjoyed chatting with the other guests. Albert was a very cordial host.

Room Tip: If you have any difficulty with stairs this may not be the best option. Also there are not individu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My wife and I journeyed to Richmond and the Grace Manor Inn in dire need of a relaxing weekend...we picked the right place! The Inn is beautiful, a historical treasure, and the owner, Albert, is as friendly and charming a host as you could ask for. The breakfasts were amazing (especially the surprise third course!), and the location--right next to Monument Drive and relatively close to Carytown--is incredibly convenient. And, it doesn't hurt having a pair of Yorkies to help liven things up!

A wonderful place to stay, and highly recommended--we will definitely go back. (We stayed in the Zimmerman Suite, which was great, but we peeked in the other rooms and they looked equally as nice.)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed three nights at the Grace Manor Inn and loved it! Very clean (thank you, Nora), amazing gourmet breakfasts, and Albert was a gracious host, very helpful and accommodating (we didn't see much of Dawn as she was busy with the cupcake shop). The location is great, with off street parking a plus. The pool and garden area were beautiful and relaxing. My husband has a bad back and the bed in the Shortt Suite was super comfortable. Although the Victorian inn is elegantly decorated, it offers a nice informal atmosphere. Great to have a microwave and mini fridge in the room. WiFi worked great, too. There is central air that worked very well, plus a few fans in our suite, so the temperature was always comfortable.

Just know when you're booking that none of the rooms in the house have ensuite bathrooms - they are private, but outside your suite (bathrobes are provided, but they don't necessarily fit all guests). While we knew the Shortt Suite bathroom was small (which was not a problem), the light (especially) and ventilation were lacking. One other small quirk was that the sink in the sitting room of the suite (great feature because of lack of light in bathroom) was pretty much useless - barely a trickle.

We loved the Grace Manor Inn and the warm hospitality of our hosts. Would definitely stay here again when we return to Richmond.

Room Tip: The Shortt Suite is on the top floor - no elevator, stairs only - which was not a problem for us, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grace Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grace Manor Inn

Address: 1853 West Grace St., Richmond, VA 23220
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grace Manor Inn is at the heart of the Historic Fan District of Richmond, Virginia, one block from Monument Avenue and walking distance to many restaurants and museums. The Capitol area, VCU, University of Richmond and the Greater Richmond Convention Center are all within five miles of the Inn. Grace Manor Inn had four large two-room suites with private bathes, each individually decorated with treasures from the past, and conveniences of today. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grace Manor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.