We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic, beautiful, and relaxing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grace Manor Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Richmond
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grace Manor Inn
Save
You added Grace Manor Inn to your Saves list
1853 West Grace St., Richmond, VA 23220   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Richmond B&B and Inns
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
“Historic, beautiful, and relaxing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My wife and I journeyed to Richmond and the Grace Manor Inn in dire need of a relaxing weekend...we picked the right place! The Inn is beautiful, a historical treasure, and the owner, Albert, is as friendly and charming a host as you could ask for. The breakfasts were amazing (especially the surprise third course!), and the location--right next to Monument Drive and relatively close to Carytown--is incredibly convenient. And, it doesn't hurt having a pair of Yorkies to help liven things up!

A wonderful place to stay, and highly recommended--we will definitely go back. (We stayed in the Zimmerman Suite, which was great, but we peeked in the other rooms and they looked equally as nice.)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    45
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
41
331
16
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed three nights at the Grace Manor Inn and loved it! Very clean (thank you, Nora), amazing gourmet breakfasts, and Albert was a gracious host, very helpful and accommodating (we didn't see much of Dawn as she was busy with the cupcake shop). The location is great, with off street parking a plus. The pool and garden area were beautiful and relaxing. My husband has a bad back and the bed in the Shortt Suite was super comfortable. Although the Victorian inn is elegantly decorated, it offers a nice informal atmosphere. Great to have a microwave and mini fridge in the room. WiFi worked great, too. There is central air that worked very well, plus a few fans in our suite, so the temperature was always comfortable.

Just know when you're booking that none of the rooms in the house have ensuite bathrooms - they are private, but outside your suite (bathrobes are provided, but they don't necessarily fit all guests). While we knew the Shortt Suite bathroom was small (which was not a problem), the light (especially) and ventilation were lacking. One other small quirk was that the sink in the sitting room of the suite (great feature because of lack of light in bathroom) was pretty much useless - barely a trickle.

We loved the Grace Manor Inn and the warm hospitality of our hosts. Would definitely stay here again when we return to Richmond.

Room Tip: The Shortt Suite is on the top floor - no elevator, stairs only - which was not a problem for us, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

My wife and I had a lovely weekend away from the DC metro area, anchored at Grace Manor with Al, our wonderful host. The house is great, with lots of character and details to study. Breakfasts were super - hand crafted with fresh fruit and delicious entres I'd never had before. They alone would tip the scale in favor of returning. Most everything in Richmond is an easy drive, but If you like walking, Al's Manor is centrally located to many great Richmond attractions.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Lovely B & B in Richmond, Va. Albert is most helpful and provided us with complimentary tickets for some of the attractions in the surrounding area. Having a separate bathroom down the hall was a bit awkward but still functional. Large rooms with separate sitting areas.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here for two nights and loved it. The inn is beautifully appointed with lots of period furniture. We had the Fensterer-Davis Suite which includes a bedroom (SO comfy bed), sitting room and separate bathroom. Breakfast was tasty -- excellent coffee. The location is really good, with off-street parking.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Our first visit to Grace Manor Inn was over the Easter weekend to celebrate my wife's birthday. If you are looking for something reasonably close to downtown (Richmond just isn't that big anyway), you want to avoid the hotel experience, and you 're looking for great value in a Victorian b&b then this is the place. Free off street parking, nice pool and garden area, gourmet breakfast included. What else could you ask for? Nice job Albert and Dawn!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This was our 3rd stay at the Grace Manor Inn and it won't be our last that's for sure. It has everything a Victorian Inn could offer. Location, beauty, pool, great host, super comfy beds, immaculately clean, cute puppy dogs and a 3 course breakfast with Champagne & Cupcakes. What else do you need???? We just love this place. We'll be back in the summer to enjoy the pool.

Katherine Z.

PS - Went to their Carry Town Cupcake shop and highly recommend the Lemon Curd & Oreo Peanut Butter, Zbest!

Room Tip: We stayed in all the rooms and they're all great. Each has a seperate sitting area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grace Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grace Manor Inn

Address: 1853 West Grace St., Richmond, VA 23220
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grace Manor Inn is at the heart of the Historic Fan District of Richmond, Virginia, one block from Monument Avenue and walking distance to many restaurants and museums. The Capitol area, VCU, University of Richmond and the Greater Richmond Convention Center are all within five miles of the Inn. Grace Manor Inn had four large two-room suites with private bathes, each individually decorated with treasures from the past, and conveniences of today. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grace Manor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.