We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suites & Sweets” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grace Manor Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Richmond
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grace Manor Inn
Save Saved
You added Grace Manor Inn to your Saves list
1853 West Grace St., Richmond, VA 23220   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Richmond B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Suites & Sweets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Excellent location for history and art buffs. Small, relaxing, with professional innkeepers. Richmond has loads of excellent restaurants but the breakfast at Grace Manor is not to be missed! Three delicious courses ending with a variety of special cupcakes. We would go back to use the pool in the summer.

Room Tip: if you have trouble with stairs make sure you discuss it when you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    447
    43
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
40
321
15
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burke, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We have lived in Northern Virginia for 35 years and never visited Richmond until our 12/26/12 to 12/28/13 visit. I highly recommend Richmond for foodies, history buffs, and lovers of great B&B's like the Grace Manor Inn. We stayed in the Carriage House (modern decor and all the amenities anyone would need for a week's stay). The breakfasts were fantastic (photograph worthy) and the service and caring for guests impeccable. We just need to visit again in the summer so we can take advantage of the salt water pool. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Dawn and Albert are wonderful hosts. The Inn is beautiful and very convenient to restaurants, museums and shopping. The holiday lights and decorations along Monument Ave. were breathtaking. Wnadering through Carytown was a treat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Just wanted to get away from the pre- Christmas hustle and bustle. Found a relaxing, enjoyable stay with courteous, experienced, knowledgable inkeepers at the Grace Manor Inn. We travel all over the country and love the feeling of B&B's. This is a good one. The best breakfast we have encountered, obvious pride in their establishment and especially their cooking. Glad to see the period correct furnishings as I enjoy my "back at the B&B time" Just meandering around observing the craftsmanship in woodwork, furniture and decorations. We are walkers and found that most everything we wanted to see was within easy, flat walking distance. Upon your return each night, you will be greeted by two Yorkie guard dogs, one weighing around two pounds. Very well behaved and unobtrusive. We never even heard them the entire stay. Overall, a very relaxing and enjoyable stay. Treat yourself, you deserve it, don't miss the breakfast. Morgan.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Everything about the trip to Grace Manor Inn was wonderful. From the excellent service to the delicious food, the beautiful house, and free Carytown Cupcakes, we had a wonderful time. The Carriage House suite is modern with just enough antique touches to preserve the original look and feel of Historical Richmond. The main house is very well preserved in the Historical fashion, and maintains original pieces from the time. The owners and their yorkies are delightful and very conscientious to meet their guests needs.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This was not only our first Bead&Breakfast, but the first time I had been able to really spend time with my husband in four or five months. He arrived in Fort Lee a week or so ago with the Navy and we absolutely could not have asked for anything better! The house itself is gorgeous; antiques, original chandeliers, actually read books (not just bought for looks), and breath taking works of art. Set in a great area! Close to W Cary Street for lovely local shopping and eateries, also Albert and Dawn's Cupcake Boutique! Theater, Arts, History centers and museums all very close by. And if you want to just take a walk go for it, the area is absolutely beautiful and rich with history. Albert is the most fantastic host and Dawn is so pleasant. They really made our stay the most perfect and we are so grateful for their hospitality. Even the other guests were great and we all had the most wonderful conversations over the to die for three course breakfast! Their house keeping staff is not only thorough but very nice. Last, but not least, Bear and Peanut, their two Yorkies, are the cutest little things in the world! They are very friendly, and if you are in the least bit worried about dog hair, don't be. I didn't see a bit of it anywhere, and a Navy uniform is very good white glove! My husband pet them and made friends...nothing, not even on his pea coat which tends to pick up anything and everything! Going to Richmond? Stay here!

Room Tip: The Short Suite, which is the one we stayed in, is just a bit smaller than the other two suites. I p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We spent two nights at the Grace Manor Inn as a romantic getaway and a home base for exploring Richmond. The guest rooms and common areas are beautiful - the inn keepers take obvious joy in their roles as hosts and preservationists. Breakfast is exquisite. We appreciated the restaurant list and recommendations for local activities, which helped us plan a relaxing and memorable weekend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grace Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grace Manor Inn

Address: 1853 West Grace St., Richmond, VA 23220
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grace Manor Inn is at the heart of the Historic Fan District of Richmond, Virginia, one block from Monument Avenue and walking distance to many restaurants and museums. The Capitol area, VCU, University of Richmond and the Greater Richmond Convention Center are all within five miles of the Inn. Grace Manor Inn had four large two-room suites with private bathes, each individually decorated with treasures from the past, and conveniences of today. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grace Manor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.