We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Richmond” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grace Manor Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Richmond
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grace Manor Inn
1853 West Grace St., Richmond, VA 23220   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Richmond B&B and Inns
Schwenksville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Best place to stay in Richmond”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Bed and breakfast is clean and historical, Albert the owner is a wonderful host, he will help you with your bags, has a great restaurant list, maps of the area, and great breakfast. also has free off street parking. Not only is it 100 times better than a hotel, but with free parking and breakfast, it is also a great. We stay in the carriage house and although it is not like the rest of the main cozy historical house it a like an apartment, and we enjoy having that little more privacy while having access to wverything

Room Tip: Want more privacy in a B&B but not the coziness pick the carriage house. Want everything expect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    442
    41
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
38
319
13
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vicenza, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

One of the best bed and breakfast I have stayed at. Beautiful house, we had a really nice room. Had to walk down the hallway to the bathroom, but not a big deal, robes are provided. What really makes the property is not only the great location, but the owner. Each morning, all the guests gathered at 9am for breakfast. It was formal, but very well done. Several courses including champaign. It was nice to chat with the other guests. The owner is a trained chef, so the food was great. He went out of his way to ensure we were happy and taken care of. Would highly recommend this property to others. They also have two small dogs that are really cute.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This gorgeous 1910ish home is so very beautiful and echos of a bygone era. It is delightfully authentic to it 's years-if you are looking for 2012 bathrooms and bedrooms this is not for you. If you are looking to step back in the past with wonderful hosts, fantastic breakfasts with bellinis (my favorite) or mimosas, a great salt water pool for swimming between 7 am and 11 pm this is for you. We stayed in the Fenster Davis suite in the main house. The Carriage House maybe more appealing to the more modern of you. We will definitely return, if only to see two wonderful Yorkies. Communal breakfasts worked for us but may not for others.

Room Tip: Fenster Davis suite and carriage house are large. Did not see the other rooms, but would downsize ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I am torn with this review. We stayed in the Carriage House annex of this B & B and I found it average at best. Yet the rest of our experience was excellent.

So, the Carriage House first. It is large and sprawling, funky but definitely not cozy. I expect cozy in a B & B. There is a huge bedroom, sitting room and–way at the other end of the narrow building–a large kitchen/dining room. It reminds me of an apartment I might have rented in my student days. The sitting room has an uncomfortable couch, yellow walls, and a loud air conditioner. It's not a pleasant room to be in. The bedroom is dark and the bedside lamps are not good for reading. We turned the very low tables on their end and then piled books and magazines under the lamps in order to raise the lights up to be able to read in bed. Bed was comfortable with lots of pillows. Wifi was hard to connect to here and, in the main house, very slow.

Now the good stuff. The pool/garden area was secluded, clean and a great space to relax in. It was a highlight of our visit there. The owner/manager, Albert, is great. He is welcoming, friendly, hospitable, and exceedingly helpful re local eateries and such.

The two breakfasts we had were at the gourmet end of what you could expect from a B & B. Albert describes each tasty course in detail as he places it before you. A fixed 9:00 AM meal time is a bit late if you have a lot to do that day but it worked for us on our mini vacation. The main house is from the year 1910 and they have retained period furniture, draperies, crown molding etc. It's like stepping back a century in time.

I could see returning if I had lots of time but would not use it for a business trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This was a belated Christmas present for my history-loving husband and we both were wowed by the experience. Our accommodations were spacious and quiet, the food and service were fabulous, and the recommendations for activities by both Albert and repeat guests to the Inn were outstanding. As noted in other recommendations, the location is perfect for anything you want to do and we had no idea Richmond had so much to offer -- beautiful homes, history, museums and dining -- we will definitely be booking another weekend at the Grace Manor Inn.

Room Tip: The carriage house is decorated in a "retro" scheme with space and privacy being its pros...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orleans MA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We've stayed at the Inn several times and enjoyed every visit. Breakfasts are delightful and delicious - not to mention the cupcakes - and you feel as though you are "at home" . Facilities are great too. Great place to stay in Richmond.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, vir
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Quaint, quiet, beautiful and delicious! We stayed in the carriage house for a little extra privacy, and had a wonderful time. The carriage house is huge, like having your own apartment, I wish we could have stayed a week! The hospitality was great, Albert and Dawn really made sure we were comfortable. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grace Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grace Manor Inn

Address: 1853 West Grace St., Richmond, VA 23220
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grace Manor Inn is at the heart of the Historic Fan District of Richmond, Virginia, one block from Monument Avenue and walking distance to many restaurants and museums. The Capitol area, VCU, University of Richmond and the Greater Richmond Convention Center are all within five miles of the Inn. Grace Manor Inn had four large two-room suites with private bathes, each individually decorated with treasures from the past, and conveniences of today. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grace Manor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Grace Manor Inn to your Saves list