We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Anniversary Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grace Manor Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Richmond
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grace Manor Inn
Save
You added Grace Manor Inn to your Saves list
1853 West Grace St., Richmond, VA 23220   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 Richmond B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fredericksburg, VA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Anniversary Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

This was our 2nd stay at this fabulous Inn. The 1st time we liked it so much we gave a gift certificate for a stay to our friends for a wedding gift! Albert is such a gracious host with a great sense of humor. We enjoyed the relaxing pool, tickets to the Whitehouse of the Confederacy, and some delicious cupcakes from Carytown Cupcakes. The rooms were comfortable and clean with attention to detail. We highly recommend this Richmond Manor.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    45
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
42
339
17
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

This Inn is just wonderful. Albert is an incredibly gracious host, and the breakfast was delicious--and included cupcakes! We stayed as part of a Living Social deal, but we will be back and will gladly pay full price--it's well worth it!

Room Tip: The Carriage House is really a nice-sized apartment. It's more than enough space for a family!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergenfield, NJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

My husband and I just spent two weekday nights at the Grace Manor Inn. Our stay was part of a LivingSocial deal that included a segway tour, two cupcakes from Carytown Cupcakes, and admission to the Nature Center at Maymont. The main inn looks more like a museum, everything was so beautiful we were almost afraid to touch anything! The grounds included a beautiful pool and a parking space for each room, for no extra charge, which is unheard of in downtown Richmond. We stayed in the carriage house, which was really a large apartment in the building right next to the main house. We had a full kitchen with sitting area, living room with a large television and DVD player, very large bedroom with a nice desk and a small television, and bathroom with the original clawfoot tub. Amenities included internet access, bathrobes, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, fans in each room, etc. However, the best part of staying ta the Grace Manor Inn was the service. My husband and I are vegan and mentioned this while making our reservation. Albert went out of his way to make us a lovely vegan breakfast. He is also super-helpful all around about area info, directions, etc. We felt very comfortable there and will be staying again in the future. Although we booked at a discounted rate with the LivingSocial deal, the full cost to stay at Grace Manor is totally worth it. Thanks for a great time!

Room Tip: We loved the spacious, modern feel of the carriage house, but people looking for that "historic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Located west of downtown Richmond, the early 1900's histroical home is conveniently located for easy access to the Va Museum of Fine Arts, the shopping on Cary Street as well as some great local restaurants. The In is run by Albert and Dawn Schick and their 3 dogs. This couple also runs a local cupcake shop.
The rooms are large and comfortable. Although overlooking Grace St, we were never bothered by the street noise. The adjoing huge sitting room allowed for us to spread out during our two-day stay. While the bathroom is down the hall from the bedroom, it is private and robes are provided for you.
The breakfasts are substantive and yummy... always concluding with a cupcake from their store!
There is a small pool in the back (We forgot our bathing suits!) yard to relax at the end of the day if you desire.
We had one small problem with items leftover in the small frig in the room and in a chest. Both were taken care of immediately.
All in all, a very nice stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Stayed in the the Manor carriage house in April, the room was more like a huge apartment with internet access included. Had enjoyable breakfast in the mornings at the manor. Both places were beautiful, serene, convenient, super-clean and made for an enjoyable trip. Innkeeper Albert was super helpful. Would definitely stay again and highly recommend. Bonus is the cupcakes from their family-owned business and their cute, sweet doggies.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Grace Manor. The room was spacious and had everything we needed. The breakfast was excellent and not the average boring fare. The host gave very good advice for places to eat and activities. The Segway tour was a lot of fun too. We would stay there again if we return to Richmond.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful house and grounds including a salt water pool. My husband and I stayed in the shortt suite which was nice with separate bedroom and sitting room which came with a mini fridge, coffee maker, and a sink. Bathroom was a door over which was only slightly inconvenient. Bathroom and shower were very small. Albert,the inn keeper, is very nice and extremely helpful in arranging plans and selecting restaraunts.

Breakfast was good. We started with coffee, juice, tea, mimosa, and Bellini offerings. Then had a small bit of fruit followed by a baked egg dish, bacon, and a biscuit. For dessert there were carrot cake cupcakes. All was very good.

Overall I really liked this B&B and it is a very good value. My only complaints were that the bathroom was not attached to the room and that the shower was small and also that breakfast was a bit smaller than I've had elsewhere. Generally no big deal and I would recommend Grace Manor to anyone staying in the Richmond area.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grace Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grace Manor Inn

Address: 1853 West Grace St., Richmond, VA 23220
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grace Manor Inn is at the heart of the Historic Fan District of Richmond, Virginia, one block from Monument Avenue and walking distance to many restaurants and museums. The Capitol area, VCU, University of Richmond and the Greater Richmond Convention Center are all within five miles of the Inn. Grace Manor Inn had four large two-room suites with private bathes, each individually decorated with treasures from the past, and conveniences of today. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grace Manor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.