We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool addition to the neighborhood!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of En Su Boca

En Su Boca
1001 N. Boulevard, Richmond, VA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #435 of 1,374 Restaurants in Richmond
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cool addition to the neighborhood!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Finally got to give this taqueria a try over the weekend. The place has a fun vibe and I look forward to going back. We had chips and salsa (it comes with 3 varaties 2 very good and the other just too hot for me). The chips are fresh fried flour tortilla. I usualy desire corn but I have to say these were well done. Crisp and tasty. Next we tried the grilled street corn. Dang, that's good! Corn on the cob slathered with mayo, cotija, lime juice and spices. Ask for extra napkins. We split the 4 taco plate with one each carnitas, carne asada, fish and chorizo. We both liked the chorizo best. Look forward to trying other menu options. Oh, and Sangria. Refreshing sangria.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    6
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“En Su Boca - stick with the tequila and carne asada”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

n a hot August Saturday we had lunch at En Su Boca or the Taco Porn Shop. So glad to see the evolution of the adult bookstore into a cute oasis off of Boulevard.

On this day, it was crowded. Every bar stool was occupied. We were seated at a two top. Later on, we understood why this strip of tables were the last to be filled. They sit directly under the HVAC conduits and it was so humid/hot that the vents dripped. You are now warned and can strategize accordingly.

With an eye on where the condensation landed we ordered a cocktail. The Teeny Weeny Hot Bikini was a pink concoction containing Espolon Reposado tequila, watermelon, basil, agave, and lime. The watermelon was very refreshing, although I did not really taste the basil. Still, En Su Boca utilized one of my favorite tequilas, and I would gladly order it again.

We also ordered chips with three different salsas: roasted tomato, tomatillo verde, and grilled habanero. The chips were not gratis, but understandable with the not-your-average salsas. My favorite was the tomatillo verde. The chips were not your average chips either; more like fried tortilla wrappers. Very satisfying.

Burritos and tacos dominated the menu. The tacos were priced individually with discounts for ordering four or more. Four tacos seemed a bit much, especially after chowing down on chips. I ordered three instead; it turned out to be the right choice for lunch. And I ordered a variety: Marinated Grilled Chicken, Slow Roasted Carnitas, and Carne Asada. The chicken didn't taste very grilled. A bit bland really. The pork was decent, but did not bowl me over. The beef was the clear winner. Great flavor with the right amount of spices. When I return, this is what I will be ordering.

I like the spot. It's cute. I will be judicious in where I sit in the future. And I'll continue to enjoy the tequila choices, the carne asada, and the chips.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Looks nice, doesn't taste so good.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Went here after a ball game. We were excited about getting some tacos. The deck looks nice, and the servers were very friendly. Unfortunately, the food was not up to that standard. We got chips and salsa and some tacos. The chips were stale and the three salsas were kind of bland, though one was spicy. The tacos were really bland with the dominant flavor being the corn tortillas. The chorizo was very spicy and had an odd texture.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Short vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Had dinner last Friday evening. Service was great, food was even better. The portions were large but delicious as well. Excellent value. I would definitely go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed En Su Boca also viewed

 

Been to En Su Boca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage En Su Boca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.