We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fish, Cornbread, Huge Portions, and Reasonable Price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Croaker's Spot Restaurants

Croaker's Spot Restaurants
1020 Hull St., Richmond, VA 23224
804-269-0464
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 1,374 Restaurants in Richmond
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Elizabeth City, North Carolina
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great Fish, Cornbread, Huge Portions, and Reasonable Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We were heading to a different restraunt when our driver asked if we were hungry and liked seafood. Next thing you know we pull up to Croakers. Feeling we had just gottened flim-flamed into a mediocre meal we entered anyway. We were greated and seated with a smile. Had the shrimp sampler for an appetizer and it was a bit pricey but tasted good. I had the fried 3 piece fishboat with potatoes and it was great... didnt care to much for the onions and bell peppers on the side. Wife had the crab stuffed tilapia and she loved it. Both meals came with cornbread that was suitable for dessert and tasted so good that we ordered more to go with our leftovers. Food was good, sevice was excellent, price was reasonable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    47
    7
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waldorf, Maryland
1 review
“Worth the wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We knew it would be a wait, so we made sure we nibbled on something before. It was a very long wait, BUT THE FOOD AND SERVICE WERE WORTH IT!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
va
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“service stinks!!!!!!!!!! hull street”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Food is always good but the have some of the nastiest management and workers working there of any restaurant that I have ever seen. I have been getting food there awhile and expect it. The problem is that they do so much business that they don't care... If they loose your business who cares? I was there recently to pick up an order that I had called in. I got there 25 minutes later to give them extra time and still had to wait another 15 minutes for the food When I went there the guy doing take out orders had a bad cold and was sneezing everywhere! didnt wash his hands and was wiping his nose on his shirt!(the tall guy) then picked up my order that was sitting right where he sneezed uncovered! thats just nasty... I wanted my money back,and they made me wait 10 more minutes for the manger to get my money back. He was on the phone carrying out a personal conversation he knew I was waiting and kept talking. I then started to lose my cool and told the server that I dont have time to wait any longer .."just give me my money so I can get to work please." The manager came over with an attitude and a scowl on his face..never apologized or asked what was wrong..He just barked to the server and gave me the money. Who wants to eat food someone sneezed on?., they need to improve their customer service! Once they figure that out then they will be one of the best places to eat in Richmond hands down. I won't be back though

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great and bountyful servings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I love the atmosphere and the staff was more than helpful. I had my favorite the "fishboat". I love their new location downtown Petersburg as it offers more parking. Don't get me wrong I still love the food at the orginial location on Leigh street.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“New Petersburg Location - too much food!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We visited the new Petersburg location which opened Feb 15 and still does not have a liquor license - absolutely no alcohol was served. The food portions are embarassing enormous and wasteful. Our server was delightful enough and their grilled salmon and broccoli (one of the very few non-fried options) was very good. Their potato side dish is swimming in butter. Not a place that will be on my visit often list but I do wish them well...we need more restaurants in Olde Town Petersburg, VA

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Croaker's Spot Restaurants also viewed

 

Been to Croaker's Spot Restaurants? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Croaker's Spot Restaurants, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.