We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A busy place with good food and good service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort

Comfort
200 W Broad St, Richmond, VA 23220-4253
+1 804-780-0004
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #77 of 1,304 Restaurants in Richmond
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night
Havelock, North Carolina
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“A busy place with good food and good service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We were visiting friends near Richmond and we went into the city for dinner. This is a place they had been to before. It was a Friday night and the retsaurant was busy, but we didn't have to wait at all for a booth in the back. The decor is shabby chic with crackle finish paint and old furniture, making if cozy and "comfort"able :)

The menu offer appetizers, entrees, sides, beverages, and dessert. There are two prices for the entrees and the difference is whether you want two or three sides with your entree. We all ordered a different entree with two sides. The food took a little longer than we'd hoped, but that might be because we were hungry.

The food was good and so was the service. I did think the asparagus was too raw. It would have had so much more flavor if it had been roasted. I would recommend this restaurant to others for a family dinner or a night out with friends. Keep in mind that if your entire group is not there at the same time, they will not seat you!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    73
    35
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midlothian, Virginia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“I just don't see it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We hear so much about Comfort but I just don't understand the hype. The dinner was good. Good food. Our server was good. However, greeted at the door by a hostess who questioned where our 4th was (he was 5 mins behind us) when there was 1 seated table was unnecessary. I would understand if the place was packed and there is a lovely sign that clearly states that all of your party needs to be present DURING PEAK HOURS, but, really? Again, our server was attentive, helpful and pleasant. My veggie plate was a surprising mix of flavors - all wonderful. The Mac & Cheese, that they are famous for, was amazing. But, dinner was $100 for 4 for a veggie plate, a few sides and two entrees. It's a simple location, a simple resturant and definately comfort food. However, I didn't quite feel "at home" like I would have liked to with such a menu and high expectations of a place of comfort.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Get Rid of the Grunge”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Comfort has stood the test of time in Richmond as its restaurant scene continues to heat up. On our recent visit the food was good but the special entree was a smallish portion. The service was good as well. The place was very busy on a Monday night. What turned me off was the grungy group of locals that apparently think they are hipsters with their tattoos and baseball hats. I can put up with that if need be since it is common downtown. What I did not appreciate is that this group of 4-5 guys stood right outside the entrance after ordering and smoked. What a turn off for people approaching the place to eat. The entrance of a restaurant should be smoke free for at least 20 feet. Overall Comfort's food and service remains a solid choice but there are much better places in the last 12 months.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“great restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The name tells it all. A comfortable place with good southern comfort foods. Good selection of items including seafood, meatloaf, pork chops, etc. The side dishes are all very good. We had tried to go a couple of times but couldn't get in. Those were nights with something going on in the area. We went last Friday and had no trouble getting a table. It was a fun place. Service was outstanding. An extensive bourbon list which is a little unusual but great for the bourbon lover. You should definitely go.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“great basic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

The food is always good at Comfort and never seems to be less than awesome. It is hard to describe the cuisine. I like the term gourmet dinner. They have mac and cheese and meatloaf but it is not dinner food. There fried Okra is better than homemade. Their collard greens are the real thing. My favorite dish is the pork loin which is perfect each time. They also have a great selection of bourbons.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Comfort also viewed

 

Been to Comfort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.