We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lemaire Restaurant

Lemaire Restaurant
101 West Franklin St, Richmond, VA 23220-5009
(804) 788-8000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 1,410 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: French, American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
New Bern, NC
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Went for a sib reunion and ate there two nights in a row and wish I were staying longer. Love the garden to table concept and the food was so fresh. The first night we just shared appetizers, the oysters were to die for and we had the basil coconut macaroons...hey if I'm going out to a classy place I want to try food I've not had before....I'm so glad we did and the strawberry sorbet was so good. The second night I had the duck...wow ..we're planning a spring getaway it's that good. The only negative was that on the second night we asked for a taste of the curry bisque and were told that the chef allowed no tasting..that was disappointing and we think that the server just didn't want to got to the trouble, all fine restaurants should let you and they missed out on a sale, maybe were wrong but most chefs would do that.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    62
    23
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had a great experience at Lemaire. The food was delicious, as was the wine. The menu was thoughtful and thorough. The atmosphere was intimate and comfortable. We really enjoyed our evening out and would recommend this to all.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Understated elegance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

My husband and I ordered from the fixed price menu and it was flawless! We both had the Manakintowne salad, the beef fillet entree and creme brûlée for dessert. The portions were scaled down, but it was just the right amount of food. We also opted to have our server select a (3 oz) glass of wine for each course ($15 per person). That was another excellent choice. The service was great and I think this was the best dining experience we've had anywhere. I especially appreciate the lack of flamboyance and snobbishness displayed by some of the "better restaurants." Lemaire is the definition of understated elegance!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogdensburg, New York
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great meal and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The restaurant is in a beautiful hotel, which adds to its appeal. The menu had many unique ingredient combinations from items purchased as locally as possible. Enjoyed the benne seed crusted loch duart scottish salmon. Great mix of flavors. The service was superb - attentive but not intrusive.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Maybe 5 stars for Richmond, but not nationally”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The dining experience was solid, but not excellent. The flavors were a bit bland and there were some minor service flaws. Instead of having five different faces showing up to out table to demonstrate high service, we would prefer our waters to be filled and bread offered again. Physical presence is not quality service. For appetizer, entree and dessert for two, I would have hoped one of these would have been exceptional.

That said, our primary server was wonderful.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lemaire Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Lemaire Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lemaire Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.