We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best In Richmond” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lemaire Restaurant

Lemaire Restaurant
101 West Franklin St, Richmond, VA 23220-5009
(804) 788-8000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 1,275 restaurants in Richmond
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best In Richmond”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Richmond does not offer much in restaurants, but Lamaire is the finest in the area. Have been here many times you will not be disapointed.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    160
    49
    16
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fine Dining - Perfect Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We went here for an anniversary dinner and were not disappointed. this is one of the top restaurants in Richmond. Nice setting, good service and excellent food.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous Birthday Dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My husband decided that we would go to Lemaire for my birthday dinner. My birthday is January 25, the same as the Scottish poet, Robert Burns. There are not many places to celebrate "Burns Night" in any way at all, so I was happy with his choice of Lemaire to have a nice dinner. It was a cold night, so we decided to start with a Scottish single malt at the bar. The bartender seemed to have considerable knowledge of the single malts they have and chose a very good one for our birthday toast. We arrived at our table by the fireplace and Mark was our excellent waiter for the evening. I was astonished to see Scottish salmon with Brussels sprouts! Of course, that had to be my choice. The generous portion arrived cooked to perfection. My husband had the local rockfish, which was also very good. The waiter made the dinner very special by being very attentive without being intrusive.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Food and Service are Top Notch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We decided to have dinner at Lemaire after seeing a magazine article regarding the top 10 restaurants in Richmond. Since we were staying at the hotel (our first, but definitely not our last visit) and it was quite cold that weekend, we opted for the in-house restaurant, Lemaire. The restaurant lived up to our very high expectations. Our server, Kristan, was friendly, attentive and knowledgeable. She really helped to make our dining experience memorable. We had tried a fantastic wine at the hotel bar before dinner and didn't see it on the menu. Kristan excused herself for a moment and came back with a bottle for us to enjoy with our dinner. We both ordered the beet and endive salad, which got the meal off to a great start. I had the dinner special, parrot fish and tender shrimp with cous cous and prosciutto wrapped asparagus. Outstanding! My fiancé had the salmon with pumpkin seeds from the regular menu. Exquisite! We spent the rest of the meal trying to decide who had the better dish. We also ordered an extra side of goat cheese mashed potatoes because they sounded both intriguing and tasty. I can't even begin to describe how outrageously delicious they were! Dessert was a chocolate caramel concoction that finished off the evening with panache. I think even the most discriminating foodie would appreciate the entire dining experience at Lemaire. We will be back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth City, NC
Top Contributor
264 reviews 264 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Elegant and polished -- a special restaurant with wonderful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We were staying at the Jefferson Hotel in Richmond to see the Dale Chihuly glass exhibit at the Virginia Museum of Fine Arts. After viewing the exhiit (incredible!), made a reservation at Lemaire and only had to wait about 20 minutes for a table to become available. Our waitperson was friendly, efficient and knowledgeable, but not obtrusive. There was a list of one appetizer special and two entree specials that came with the (somewhat limited) menu. Personally, we like the idea of having fewer options on menus, rather than being overwhelmed with too many choices. For starters we had: endive, blue cheese and roasted beet salad; ham-wrapped duck slices (really amazing!). We both opted for the Angus beef tenderloin, perfectly cooked at medium rare, served with tiny fingerling potatoes, beet pieces, and roasted pears. A gorgonzola cheese pat adorned the top of the beef. Beautifully presented, of course. For dessert, we shared a German chocolate bread pudding, which was out of this world! The ambience of the restaurant was elegant, with beautiful furnishing, wainscoting, window treatments, and stiffly starched table linens. A treat for the eyes. We would love to return for another special evening.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lemaire Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Lemaire Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lemaire Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.