We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite OK” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Baker's Crust

Baker's Crust
3553 W Cary St, Richmond, VA 23221-2728
(804) 213-0800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #152 of 1,380 Restaurants in Richmond
Price range: $8 - $17
Cuisines: Bakery, Delicatessen, Pizza, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Midlothian, VA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not quite OK”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Lunch service and atmosphere were Satisfactory. Mushroom & Brie soup was excellent. Corn & Crab chowder was poor - more like a thin soup than a chowder. Panini Rueben and Corned beef sandwiches were thrown together; rather tasteless meats and dry. Corned beef was in small clumps and didn't cover the bread. Bread had OK grill marks, was hard toasted and certainly not the usual panini. There are too many available restaurants to go here again. I'll try elsewhere next time.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    29
    10
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Went here for lunch today with family and all I can say is WOW!!! All four adults and our 12 year old agreed - best meal we have had in Richmond!!! As soon as we walked in the aroma was mouthwatering! The chef was preparing Frittata's that looked AMAZING! Even though we were all in the mood for lunch, 3 adults switched to this Frittata and were NOT disappointed. I ordered the soup and sandwich combo - French onion soup was absolutely delicious and the half panini of meatloaf sandwich tasted like I myself had lovingly prepared it. The 12 year old proclaimed his Mac and cheese to be the best - and I was happy that is was a good amount for him to eat. The real treat was yet to come - for dessert, the 12 year old ordered the white chocolate mouse cake - O.M.G!!!! Turned out, he didn't like it because it also had coconut in it and the four adults almost came to blows over it - wow, just wow!!! Servive was fast, friendly and casual - will be back again, and again!!!! The prices were reasonable for 5 meals and dessert.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, VA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great for a quick dinner before the theatre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Terrific individual-sized pizzas, salads, soups, and sandwiches. A 5-minute drive to the Landmark Theater. Let your server know when you need to be out the door, and you'll be accommodated.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Cute Cafe w/ extensive menu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

This is another one of those places I heard people raving about. My experience was nothing special. I ordered a turkey sandwich which was good. My husband had the cheeseburger (which tasted as if they did not bother to even put salt and pepper on) with fries (he enjoyed it). The fries were great! I also had a slice of the apple pie. This was nothing special to me as I like my pie a little sweeter.

I probably would visit again but it's not at the top of my list for places I must return to.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dependably good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We rely on Baker's Crust for always being good with good service, pleasant staff with a dependable small wine list. They have fresh vegetarian meals that are a go to for me and I'm not vegetarian. Bruschetta - yum! Don't miss the soups - finally a soup not made at home that's not going to kill you with salt. the atmosphere is quiet, open, light.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baker's Crust also viewed

 

Been to Baker's Crust? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baker's Crust, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.