We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great for a light meal and drinks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TJ's

TJ's
101 W Franklin St, Richmond, VA 23220-5009
(804) 788-8000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #84 of 1,303 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: TJ's is a Southern bistro providing a relaxed atmosphere perfect for lunch with colleagues, clients and friends, a mid-week breakfast or a late lunch upon arrival. Whenever possible, local produce, naturally raised meats and sustainably harvested seafood are featured. TJ’s beverage menu provides many options for guests to explore flavor by pairing their beverages with our cuisine! The beer program features a broad selection of Virginia breweries, as well as a seasonal, rotating microbrews by the bottle and on draft. The wine program shows young, fresh wines from the Old and New World at excellent prices. The inviting lounge offers a casual atmosphere for a gathering of colleagues or family. Enjoy a unique specialty cocktail or craft beer in the lounge while watching the big game on our “hidden” TV. We look forward to welcoming you soon!
Morehead City, North Carolina
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“great for a light meal and drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Since we had had missed lunch and it was mid-afternoon, we opted for a snack and wine at the bar, so that we wouldn't spoil our dinner. George, the bartender recommended a dip which was excellent and we each had a glass or two of wine. We were surrounded by others seeking libations, so we enjoyed the banter, made new friends and conversed with George, a movie buff, about the Hollywood exhibit...totally enjoyable!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    35
    15
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hanover, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great spot for a late lunch & drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Having spent 2 days in Richmond, and with a bounty of restaurants around, we always ended up at TJ's for a late luch. Prices were reasonable with dinner size salads, topped with salmon or chicken and great beer selections. Wait stall was friendly & entertaining, as well. Definitely dine at TJ's while at the Jefferson Hotel!!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Alabama
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“TJ's Bistro at The Jefferson Hotel is wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We had the pleasure of dining at TJ's Bistro at the Jefferson Hotel December 20. We went there to hear the group The Offering play for Christmas and had lunch. Jonathan Kibiloski is the manager of this great restaurant....we so enjoyed the soup of the day which was a ham and corn chowder with baby limas and was divine! I asked for the recipe and our waiter suggested I email Jonathan. I have and am anxiously awaiting his reply. My son had a sandwich with Va ham and salami and an olive spread...he loved it. I enjoyed the peanut soup which is an old Virginia favorite. The service was great and the hotel was gorgeous. Top notch all the way. I hear their breakfast buffet is wonderful also. will definitely dine there again when in town.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWitt, Michigan
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great way to start the day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We enjoyed breakfast at TJ's as part of a special stay at the Jefferson Hotel. The menu is large with local specialties. Both of our meals were excellent and service was just right. A little pricey, but worth it.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great causal lunch place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

TJ's has always been a nice place, but food quality has clearly moved up several notches, yet prices remain modest. Their corn and shallot soup is to die for!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TJ's also viewed

 

Been to TJ's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TJ's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.