We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skip the chain restaurants, this place is fast and good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Perly's Delicatessen

Perly's Delicatessen
111 E Grace St, Richmond, VA 23219-1741
(804) 649-2779
Improve this listing
Ranked #125 of 1,380 Restaurants in Richmond
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Top Contributor
422 reviews 422 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 159 cities Reviews in 159 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Skip the chain restaurants, this place is fast and good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We opened the door and the chalk board said to seat ourselves. We picked a booth with the stick and hooks as old fashioned diners used to have, but This place is better than going to a chain restaurant or diner.

Their open kitchen and seating is nice. My colleague and I sat down and immediate the staff came with water and asked us if we needed something else to drink. The menus were already placed on the tables so we knew what we wanted.
Our order (2 eggs with toast and sausages - easy) came incredibly fast. It probably took less than 15 minutes. Can't mess up sunny side eggs and toast and they didn't.

The old register added charm to this place as well as other pieces. It is a nice place to ill be sure to come back again.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    24
    11
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“May not be good for you, but it sure tasted good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We ate a late lunch there as a family. What a happy bustling place. I had the Reuben which I know isn't the healthiest thing, but it was very good. My daughter got the Downtowner which she just devoured. My sister got the BLT. Our waitress was super. Lots of extra napkins. Bill for the three of us not including tip was around $40.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A Richmond Tradtion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

and deservedly so! This busy delicatessen serves a variety of great breakfast and lunch favorites; you can always count on excellent quality food served with finesse in a pleasant environment at a fair price.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast in Richmond”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I need to move out of the neighborhood just to stop eating here all the time! What could be better than an amazing little southern place with delicious breakfast just minutes from my apartment?

A coworker recommended I eat here, and begged me to bring her along when I did go. The first time, I ended up going with an out of town guest and taking the early part of the morning off during the week. Definitely worth it. They have a good menu with lots of options, but not too many. I was pleased with the quality and price of food, friendliness of the staff, and quick service. I did go during the week, and I do see people waiting outside on the weekend.

Both of us had the #1 (standard breakfast with eggs, meat, side, and bread). Upon recommendation of many people we both got biscuits. They were so delicious! I've heard they are beer-battered, which gives them an interesting flavor. The food was delicious, but I felt like I had eaten two whole sticks of butter. That's probably what made it so delicious. Neither of us ate lunch that day we were so full! I am already a repeat customer!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A gem of a Diner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is a real old-fashioned diner, great for breakfast, and makes you feel a part of the city. Try the homemade oatmeal, biscuits, and spiced apples on a chilly fall morning.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Perly's Delicatessen also viewed

 

Been to Perly's Delicatessen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Perly's Delicatessen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.