We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for a pint” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sin E' Irish Pub

Sin E' Irish Pub
1327 E Cary St, Richmond, VA 23219-4117
+1 804-649-7767
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #104 of 1,273 restaurants in Richmond
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Sine (pronounced "Shin-ay) Irish Pub and Restaurant in Richmond's historic Shockoe Slip opened in May, 1999, when renovations of the former warehouse space were complete. Modeled after authentic "city pubs" in Ireland, parts of Sine's rustic interior were actually designed and built in the mother country then transported across the Atlantic. The result is a comfortable and traditional Irish pub accessible to all in the Richmond Metropolitan area. With cozy snugs, a huge bar and spacious dining areas, patrons will agree - Sine lives up to its Gaelic name - "This is it!". Pubs in Ireland are a community gathering place - a comfortable place for family and friends to spend some time together. At Sine, we've tried to create the same atmosphere with great food and plenty of cozy areas to sit and relax. Our menu includes traditional Irish pub fare as well as American food served with a Celtic flair. We serve lunch, after work specials, dinner and Sunday brunch. On Thursday, Friday and Saturday, our pub patrons enjoy live entertainment for free. We're happy to serve large parties and will even take care of special events - just contact our general manager, Bob McNulty. Sine Irish Pub and Restaurant is located at 1327 East Cary Street in Shockoe Slip. Stop in and see for yourself why Sine is "it"!
beaufort, nc
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good place for a pint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My husband and I went with my mother and step dad for lunch while walking around Richmond. My husband and I had been to Ireland before and there were reminders of Dublin when walking into this pub. The food was excellent and the Irish Car Bombs were pretty good also.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

64% Recommend
    33
    34
    25
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good times”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is a fun hang out for the 30-40s crowd. On weekends, they have live bands and there is a nice outdoor seating area.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Stick with the Irish food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I work downtown and this is a regular luch or happy hour location for me. It's a great lunch spot and a lot of fun after work, although it can get a little loud once the place fills up. Not a great place to hear a band (which they have on weekends)--there just isn't enough space in the bar area to hear the music without bening stepped on by other patrons.
As far as the food--if you want traditional Irish food (fish and chips, corned beef and cabbage, shepherd's pie) it's a safe bet. Burgers are good too. But I don't recommend going too far afield. Two Dishes to Avoid that must be mentioned--1) The turkey and brie sandwich. Sounds nice, huh? But it's the "winter fruit" that ruins it. This is an open-faced sandwich with a little bit of meat and cheese and what seems like about 2 cups of what looks and tastes like minced meat pie filling. You can't taste the sandwich for this sweet, gooey mess. GROSS. 2) Grizzly Pear. Well, it is grizzly. Again, it sounds yummy: carmelized pears and onions with walnuts and brie (it's the brie that gets me!) on mixed greens. The better description would be a lot of GRILLED onions and a couple of itsy bitsy pear pieces (that taste like they were slapped on the grill next to the cheese steak and onions) plopped on some lettuce (greasy from the grilled mess). I think these two dishes are attempts at creativity, but man do they fall short. Seriously, stick the the basics here!
Note- one exception--the Beet salad with nuts and goat cheese is really good. I've had it several times and it's never failed to satisfy.
The soups are wonderful too. Best of all is the Jameson and Guinness.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia beach, va
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Nightlife and Fish n Chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The service was awesome - the fish and chips live up to their rep and the live music scene was refreshing!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John`s, NL
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Irish Food in the Heart of the Confederacy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We had dinner there on a cool Richmond November night.Looking for some hearty pub food to warm us up.My wife ordered Sheppards Pie,I chose Bangers and mashed potatoes with gravy. My wife loves lamb, but alas there was little of in the pie.My Bangers were ok. We were not impressed with this place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sin E' Irish Pub also viewed

 

Been to Sin E' Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sin E' Irish Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.