We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What happened?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hermitage Grill

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hermitage Grill
6010 Hermitage Rd, Richmond, VA 23228-5502
(804) 264-7400
Improve this listing
Ranked #350 of 1,374 Restaurants in Richmond
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Delicatessen, Californian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“What happened?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This used to be one of my favorite Northside restaurants in Richmond. Since the fire the place has completely turned around.

The atmosphere is now 70's trailer park with light wood paneling that's atrocious.

The wait staff has deteriorated dramatically and all of the old staff has moved on, no doubt due to the long closing after the fire.

The bar is too busy for this to be a viable restaurant for dinner. It's way too loud and close to the tables and the owner and waitstaff seem much more interested in the bar traffic than serving the overpriced food.

I've been to dinner twice since the reopening and was very disappointed. Brunches used to be great and sounds like they're still okay but I'm pretty much staying away at this point.

What a shame!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    4
    3
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
central Virginia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“BRUNCH IS GOOD but costly; AVOID DINNER”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Been 3 times now; BRUNCH is edible, but pricey. Brunch service is far better than at dinner, where our waitress thought it was funny that the soup was MUCH too piquant to eat. Coffee is fair, service is less so. At dinner in winter the joint was COLD inside (almost as cold as the waitress's snobby attitude). Okay, SOME people (not us) assume desperately overpriced and fiercely overspiced is the same as "TRENDY", and if so, lets ban every "trendy" joint on the planet. This joint (and it's small enough to be "cozy") does have SOME decent selections, but they are all FAR TOO EXPENSIVE, even after allowing for the sorry ambience. Oh, but THE PIPED-IN MUSIC was pretty good. Wish the service and all the food was also.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
1 review
“More than a neighborhood grill !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We met Sam at the Farmers Market. He told us we should come by for Sunday brunch and we are very happy we did. The food was wonderful, people where great and 10 minutes from our house. We'll be back !!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Keep Driving- Not Worth the Time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We had been here once before prior to the fire. We liked it then and were in the area. The place is very small. The owner was just standing around talking while we waited for our waitress. We ordered cocktails; first mistake. They come in old fashion tiny water glasses. Not worth the price for the small size. The food is okay, but presentation is completely lacking. I agree the prices seem high for the quality. As for atmosphere- it is non-existent. This restaurant could be a cute place with atmosphere, but they are more interested in cramming as many people as possible in the small space and then somewhat ignore you. However, you are so close you can just grab them.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
“AWFUL ! AWFUL ! AWFUL!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Absolutely the WORST place I have ever gone to eat!!!!! The food is horrible and the prices are WAY to high. Even it the food was half way worth eating, the prices are just outrageous!! Very obnoxious staff, especially if you are there after 7:00 because it seems they have all had a drink or five..... I highly recommend that you NOT go to this establishment (or hole in the wall) to eat !

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hermitage Grill also viewed

 

Been to Hermitage Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hermitage Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.