We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice local restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Helen's

Helen's
2527 W Main St, Richmond, VA 23220-4427
(804) 358-4370
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 1,304 Restaurants in Richmond
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Midlothian, Virginia
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Nice local restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Went to this restaurant last night for my 42nd Anniversary. Been in business since 1935. Located in the fan, this place is small but has a lot of atmosphere. You can come for a drink and sit at the bar or enjoy a wonderful dinner. I would make reservations when you go just in case. They don't have that many tables. You will enjoy your visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    14
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maumee, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Renovated space with great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The building has been repurposed as an intimate dining space - fewer than 20 tables. The chefs prepare the food in an open area. We experienced amazing food; my cod on pureed cauliflower was very, very good. Vegetarian option was also outstanding. RSVPs are a good idea; wonderful ambiance.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia
Top Contributor
315 reviews 315 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Small & Slow”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I had my hopes high based on the reviews I read, but came away thinking the food was good, but not great. I had the Helen's burger with warm fries (no, they're not supposed to come that way) and my wife had the lemon Risotto ravioli. We both liked what we had, but waiting 55minutes to get it took something away from the experience. And unfortunately, our service was pretty poor. We didn't know they had specials until we had already ordered, and we happened to hear the waitress at the next table tell those patrons what they were. All the other waitresses really seemed to be hopping, I think we just had the wrong one tonight.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great brunch spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

Stopped by here for brunch on a Saturday with our 10 yr old. Menu had typical brunch items (omlettes, pancakes, French toast & Benedict's) but most had an interesting twist. We chose eggs with homemade corned beef hash, smoked salmon eggs Benedict and choc chip pancakes...all were awesome! Staff was super friendly & attentive. Chefs were right behind the bar cooking & engaging with customers. Great place for saturday/Sunday brunch! In Richmond since 1935 per it's signage!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Only came for drinks, but a nice friendly place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The ambiance was good and the kitchen open and next to the bar) smelled great, but we only stayed here for drinks. The drinks were a bit expensive - might come back for dinner sometime.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Helen's also viewed

 

Been to Helen's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Helen's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.