We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avalon now Social 52” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Social 52

Social 52
2619 W Main St, Richmond, VA 23220
+1 804-353-9709
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Social 52 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #281 of 1,373 Restaurants in Richmond
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: N. Mulberry St.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Avalon now Social 52”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Renovations preserve old Richmond with contemporary look. Feels more open. Despite crowd didn't feel cramped and service was excellent. Food was very good . I had the duck breast and wife had salmon. This was after sampling 2-3 excellent appetizers . Will tell all my friends and will definitely be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    13
    8
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Changed ownership!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

A new restaurant is opening here following renovations, new menu, decor, theme, chief, staff and features.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Small plate heaven!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Avalon has friendly service, fresh food, original ideas.
Great wine list. Great dark wood in an old fashioned bar.
Interesting dishes, like shrimp with Couscous instead of grits. Brussel sprouts sliced up and thrown in a griddle with garlic and pine nuts.
Truffle French fries!
Never been disappointed.
Even small plates are generous for the price, enough for the table to sample.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Will be back for dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We came for happy hour on friday night. They have a nice bottled beer selection. I needed a snack so I ordered the bibb salad with basil ranch dressing and a basket of homemade bread and butter. The salad was incredible, so fresh. It made me want to order dinner items as well. We will be back another night. The bartender was reserved but very friendly at the same time. All of the staff seemed happy to be there. They weren't packed for a friday night but seemed to have a decent dinner rush. It's quite cozy but has plenty of room and privacy at tables. Looks like a good place for families or intimate dinners.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“not sure.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I went there with a friend for drinks & appetizers since we had a coupon/offer. From what I understand Avalon has been there for a while. The service was good, but the place is dark and doesn't have much to offer in atmosphere. I thought the food was ok, but they had a very limited menu.

To be honest, I'm not sure I would go back again as there are way too many better options very close.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Social 52 also viewed

 

Been to Social 52? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Social 52, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.