We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Food but Bad Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mamma Zu's

Mamma Zu's
501 South Pine St., Richmond, VA 23220-6242
(804) 788-4205
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 1,379 Restaurants in Richmond
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Awesome Food but Bad Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I think it is part of their style. Awesome food but bad service. Food is quick and high quality but the wait staff has no TLC. It seems as if this is planned.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    42
    15
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Charles, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“As good anything as you will get in Little Italy, NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I travel often to Richmond on business and rely on our local contact for restaurant recommendations - he never disappoints but he outdid himself with his suggestion of Mama Zu's. I've now been twice in my last two visits, once for lunch and once for dinner. Don't be put off by the exterior of the building; you want marble and a cheap fountain go to Olive Garden, you want great Italian go to Mama Zu's. The food is great, the prices affordable (but only cash or AMEX?) and the service attentive. (According to the local press Bruce Springsteen ate here earlier in the year but I cannot find his trip advisor review.)

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Always great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Ate there last night with all of our meals outstanding. I had the pork chops and they were the best I ever had. Large portions so I and the 3 others at our table took about half of our food for another meal. Always a wait to get in.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Love it or hate it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Hands down best restaurant in Richmond. New York would be proud to have it. The food is french and robust and great value. Not everyone will like the neighborhood or the "ambience". Also no decaf or light beer (we have our standards) and they only take cash and American Express. Reservations for 6 or more only.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“20 years and it's still at the top of the list”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I have been eating in this restaurant since it opened, and it is still my favorite! You can't go wrong with anything on the menu. I always bring out of town folks here and all agree, Mamma's rocks! Funky. Delicious. Garlic goodness. Be prepared to wait. It's worth it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mamma Zu's also viewed

 

Been to Mamma Zu's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mamma Zu's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.