We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Foodies Delight” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mamma Zu's

Mamma Zu's
501 South Pine St., Richmond, VA 23220-6242
(804) 788-4205
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 1,379 Restaurants in Richmond
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Foodies Delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Great food..... Veal Marsala is excellent. Professional service, perhaps not the usual southern hospitality, but good. My husband asked for a combo of two different recipes and was accomodated with a no problem. Delicious diner in a rather austere atmosphere, but that is part of MZ's charm. Ran into friends from NYC and Richmond there. We are from Atlanta.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    42
    15
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Simply The Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Hands down, flat out, the best Italian cuisine in Richmond - bar none! End of story. No argument. If you like to have your a*s pampered and ego stroked by servers bending over backwards to accommodate your quirks GO somewhere else. This is about food and the people who pride themselves on serving the best. Bring cash and have a drink while you wait. There is a reason it is always crowded - it is the best in town!!!!!!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food -- but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The meal we had was very nice. I had the pasta with mushrooms (Pasta Karl...or something I believe it was called). The restaurant does have it's quirks though. There are no soft surfaces in the restaurant to absorb sound -- so it's very loud inside. For some strange reason, they don't sell diet soda -- or maybe any soda at all. If you don't like wine, I think you're only options are ice tea and water.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I like waiting in line to be scoff at by the waitstaff. It a every day thing and the management knows of this, but they just don't care and neither will I when they have such good food sling at you. I can't do this at home, so I go out for the abuse and a good meal

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best damn Italian resturant in Richmond !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Amazing , service , atomsphere, and food
Even better than edo squid
Best bread ever
We had the orchette, lamb meatballs, and broccoli rabe with sausage and washed it down with tiramisu amazing !!!!!!
Authentic Italian food !!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mamma Zu's also viewed

 

Been to Mamma Zu's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mamma Zu's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.