We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mekong Vietnamese Restaurant

Mekong Vietnamese Restaurant
6004 W Broad St, Richmond, VA 23230-2222
804-288-8929
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #181 of 1,303 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Large groups, Special occasions, Doing business, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
winston salem
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A Must.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Beer and wine selections are amazing & reasonable. Food is good but "americanized." This place deserves its hype.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    45
    18
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Vietnamese Every Time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We have been patrons there many times over the years and must say this is with out doubt one of the most consistently great places to eat, drink and enjoy fellowship. the owners are wonderful people and really care about the patrons having a good time. The beer selection is outstanding with something from every part of the world to consider.

If you want authentic Vietnamese food try the various noodle soups and clay pot dishes. The clay pot pork is outstanding! The noodle soups have wonderful flavor and for added spice put in the fresh cut chili's and lime juice! The pho soups are great and another authentic dish.

For price, choice and fun, you can't beat Mekong!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Make sure you have reservations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We had early reservations and the party grew to 16. Other reservations kept us from having additional tables but we did fine. There is an extensive menu. I had a chicken dish with lots of vegetables. It was good but not very warm. The same with the tea. It was good
Vietnamese food.
When we left there was a line to get in. This is a very popular place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beer Beer Beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Don't bother with the Pho, its quite mediocre compared to Pho So 1. The rest of their Vietnamese food is good not great, but the star of this restaurant is the AMAZING beer selection. Try as many as possible, this is the only place to get many of these!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We were a group of 9 who walked in around 5:30 on Saturday night. Though there was not a problem getting a table at that time, by the time we left around 6:30/7, the place was really hoppin', with many people waiting for tables. Since we live in the Washington DC area, we are used to having great ethnic restaurants, so I was really surprised at how great this very unassuming joint was. The setting is pretty basic - I don't recall if there was any decor, and the tables and chairs were very basic. But the service was excellent. Within a minute of my daughter spilling her drink on the table, two servers were assisting with sopping it up. The food - from salads to noodles to meats and fried items - was wonderful - fresh, plentiful, and delicious.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mekong Vietnamese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mekong Vietnamese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mekong Vietnamese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.