We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good stuff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buz & Ned's Real Barbecue Boulevard

Buz & Ned's Real Barbecue Boulevard
1119 N Blvd, Richmond, VA 23230 (Formerly Buz & Ned's Real Barbecue)
804 355 6055
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #86 of 1,380 Restaurants in Richmond
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Description: While Buz has been dishing real barbecue in Richmond since 1992, our first brick-and-mortar location on Boulevard opened in 1995. We've also had the honor and privilege of being featured on some of television's top food shows. We are thankful to our loyal fan base that keeps coming back year-after-year. We opened our Broad St. location in 2012 and we look forward to bringing the same barbecue tradition to the West End.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“good stuff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Enjoyed the beef BBQ, slaw, and tasted the brisket. Not a bad place at all. Would like to head back and try the pork as well.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    116
    60
    25
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food but no call in takeout!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I love the food at Buz & Ned's, especially the pulled pork, beans and potato salad but was extremely frustrated one night when I tried to call in a takeout order. They will not allow you to do that. You can go to the restaurant and order takeout there, but then you have to wait for it. Crazy and frustrating... I rated service low due to my dissatisfaction with their takeout policy.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“excellent Q”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

This is the best bar b q spot in Richmond.. I used to think Pierce's in Williamsburg was my top choice in Virginia but recently I ate at both, back to back and Buz won. The boulevard location dinning area is basic, which doesn't bother me. The sides are good, but not out standing..BUT the Q is great. I prefer the Boulevard location, even tho it can get crowded. There are some good Q spots in Richmond, you can try others but Buz is the best.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Past Glory?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Note: This applies to the chopped pork only.
As a longtime fan of N&B, I'm torn in writing this review. Buz and Ned brought real barbeque to the people, and it still tastes really good (although Hank's in South Richmond, which closed around 1980, was every bit as good - the cook asked how much you wanted, reached into the warming oven, pulled out a joint and cut off and chopped your serving ).
The sandwiches appear to have gotten smaller and smaller in the past few years, while the prices go up and up. I'm getting older, so my taste buds may be failing me, but the 'que seems to have less smoky, less charred flavor.
Can't comment on the sides - that's not why I go there. But if you need your hickory-smoked BBQ fix, you'll still get it, just not quite as much.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Stopped here after searching for a non-fast-food option for our road trip along i95. Good choice! Location was right of the highway and there was a BP gas station to kill two birds. Food was great and they had kid choices such as hot dogs and macaroni&cheese. Side portions could be more generous - not large enough to share at all! There isn't table service ... You order up front and the call your name when it's ready. There was outdoor seating for both summer and winter months. So if you want quick good food right of I95 that makes you feel like your dining with the locals then go here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buz & Ned's Real Barbecue Boulevard also viewed

 

Been to Buz & Ned's Real Barbecue Boulevard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buz & Ned's Real Barbecue Boulevard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.