We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good, But Pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zeus Gallery Cafe

Zeus Gallery Cafe
201 N Belmont Ave, Richmond, VA 23221-2811
804-359-3219
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 1,379 Restaurants in Richmond
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
~~~
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Very Good, But Pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Zeus Gallery is a small restaurant located in the heart of Richmond's "Fan" District. The restaurant is very small, so get a reservation if you can. There is no set menu as new menu is written on a chalk board each night. The food is very good, the customer service is excellent, and the atmosphere is fun. However, this prices are about $5-$10 more than they need to be. Salads don't need to be $12 and Entrees could be in the low $20's/ high teens instead of the high $20's. But, this place is always busy, and they can get away with it. Add the high price of their drinks and expect to pay about $40+ a head easily.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    12
    10
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manakin, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best menu in Richmond; incredible service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Went last night with five good friends and could not have enjoyed Zeus any more. I think we tried everything on the menu but three items. And every single dish was amazing. We all left very fat and happy.

Most menus give me two or three real good options for my main course. At Zeus last night, I was choosing from seven that I really wanted to try. I will be back in the next week to try one of the others.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
“Excellent, as always.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

Zeus Gallery is as fine a dining experience as I have ever had. Great atmosphere, friendly and knowledgeable staff, and expertly prepared food. I have never had even a mediocre meal there. Classy joint in all, and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a fantastic dinner at a great location.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Showed up at Zeus on Saturday night with a dinner reservation for a party of 8 (after having called Zeus and been assured they could handle a large party). Our table wasn't ready so they ushered us into the COAT CLOSET because the venue is small and there is no where for a party of 8 to wait for a LONG LONG LONG time. We were told that our table was just finishing desserts and would be ready soon so we ordered some drinks. An hour after our reservation time, we're all still waiting in the coat closet. No apologies from staff or mgmt, simply an offer to order appetizers in the coat closet. Thanks, but no thanks. Then another offer to order dinner in the coat closet. Again, thanks but no thanks. And still, no apologies, no bread, no crackers, no offers of any compensation whatsoever, nothing!!! And certainly no telling the other party who had long finished dinner that there was a reservation waiting and could the other table be moved to the coat closet. The staff at Zeus completely blew it and had no idea how to handle the situation much less accomodate it. My husband and I had been going to Zeus for 15 years, not every month, but once or twice a year, and loved it. You would think that a restaurant of this caliber would be able to handle this situation but not so at all. From beginning to end, they were completely inept. Our party of 8 finally gave up and left in search of good service and good food somewhere else in Richmond. Fortunately there are many great restaurants in Richmond with both fabluous food and wonderful customer service. Unfortunately, Zeus Gallery is no longer one of them. I wonder what happened? What a shame. I know 8 people that will never ever go back.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Another outstanding dining experience at Zeus!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Once again, Zeus Gallery delivers. We recently went with some friends and had a fantastic experience. The food and service are always top notch. If you have never been to Zeus, do yourself a favor and make a reservation today!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zeus Gallery Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Zeus Gallery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zeus Gallery Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.