We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Grotta Ristorante

La Grotta Ristorante
1218 E Cary St, Richmond, VA 23219-4116
+1 804-644-2466
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
La Grotta Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #73 of 1,380 Restaurants in Richmond
Price range: $17 - $38
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 13th Street
McKinney, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“AWESOME!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

AWESOME!! Quaint atmosphere, wonderful food, adorable (British!) waiter! All in all, a fabulous evening!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    32
    14
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
McKinney, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“FABULOUS!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

IT WAS BEYOND EXCEPTIONAL!! I am so glad a friend told me about this place! It was a fabulous find and the food was surely prepared by the hands of an angel! I had the quail and it was other wordly! Do yourself a favor and get him FAST!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond, va
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“great meal, but need alcohol disclosure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

La Grotta has an authentic Italian feel, but also feels a bit dated. As the name might imply, La Grotta is in the basement, so it has a bit of a claustrophobic feel with no windows. The service was mostly excellent. Our waiter seemed to really enjoy being a waiter. He enthusiastically told us about the specials, the dessert menu, etc. He seemed to be spread a little thin. I know he had at least one other table that was at the same meal stage as us, keeping his workload high.
We did not explore the wine menu, so I can't comment on that.
My wife had a caesar salad and the gnocchi. She enjoyed them both, but she said the gnocchi was limited to one flavor. I had the Veal Scallopini with asparagus- a regular menu item. Mashed potatoes and escarole came with this and I enjoyed everything. It might be worth noting that the menu on their website is not the current menu in the restaurant.
We saved room for dessert and this was the only area where we were disappointed. We both ordered dessert and they were both served on a zabaglione, which (unknown to us) contains alcohol. Our server did not mention this fact when covering the dessert menu. My wife is 3 months pregnant, so not obviously showing, She picked up on the taste of alcohol, and we asked the waiter about it. He confirmed that it had alcohol, but then went on to tell us that they serve it to children with the consent of the parents and that it's not very much. After we explained that my wife is pregnant, he apologized, but made no offer to have it remade or anything else. My wife avoided the zabaglione, but it really should've been mentioned in the dessert descriptions. This was the only flaw in an otherwise excellent meal, but it's a pretty glaring oversight for a number of people - recovering alcoholics, pregnant women, those with religious beliefs which prevents them from consuming, etc.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Northern Italian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Had lunch here, not a good luch choice very heavy food items alot of sauces and calories. Highly recommend for a dinner choice. Very large selection of menu items with good pricing spead. Great atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Food poisoning”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

Ordered a bottle of wine, the pasta sampler and and the filet mignon last night and I am still throwing up and running to the restroom every 30 mins. Its now 8am and my weekend looks to be pretty much ruined. Other than that, the service was excellent! Although I personally will not be back, I am sure this is not a regular occurance given the numerous positive reviews. Eat at own risk!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Grotta Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to La Grotta Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Grotta Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.