We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Southern Style Diner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River City Diner 17th Street Farmers Market

River City Diner 17th Street Farmers Market
7 North 17th St., Richmond, VA 23223-6960
804 644 9418
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #108 of 1,379 Restaurants in Richmond
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Late Night
Yonkers, New York
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Great Southern Style Diner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

We got used to eating at the River City Diner because both of our lived in Richmond at one time or another. One of them used to live just a few blocks from the downtown River City Diner. That made going there extra convenient. We are happy to report that on our most recent visit to Richmond we were looking for a good breakfast and stopped in again. We were not at all disappointed. The place is still a great diner, Southern style of course!

We each had a big breakfast: western omelet for me and bacon and eggs for the boss. An extra order of biscuits and gravy complemented the scene very nicely. Boy did we leave there totally satisfied.

Go to the River City Diner any time that they are open (they do keep long hours) and enjoy everything from a quick sandwich to a full meal. They do it all and they do it right for a fair price.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    13
    12
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great for some fast food when out on the town.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

We went there on the weekend around 10pm. Ordered a cheeseburger and the "Greek" salad. The burger was well done as requested and everything appeared clean. The salad had some extra fruit on the side and good dressing. I'd say it could compete with any chain resturant foodwise. The waitress checked on us frequently and was very polite (the place wasn't very busy at this time so not sure what it would be like later on weekend nights.) There is a small bar where you can sit at the entrance and drink or order your food. There is a cool wall that appears to be the original brick and design frome the old building.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortland, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Disappointing, but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012 via mobile

Got here 15 minutes before closing, so take this review with that in mind. Nice people but the food was totally indifferent--we had wraps with very little in them.
I would like to think it would have possibilities for breakfast. Funky atmosphere.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“great food great atmosphere great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

title says it all, delicious menu, great folks, any time

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Breakfast Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Perfect place for breakfast. A tradition for many years.
Recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River City Diner 17th Street Farmers Market also viewed

 

Been to River City Diner 17th Street Farmers Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River City Diner 17th Street Farmers Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.