We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, shoddy service, indifferent Management” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Old Original Bookbinders

Old Original Bookbinders
2306 E Cary St, Richmond, VA 23223-7822
804-643-6900
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Old Original Bookbinders is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 1,304 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 24th and East Cary Street
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food, shoddy service, indifferent Management”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Not our first visit, but we received a gift card as a wedding gift. 2 diners - entrees served 5 minutes apart. Server apologized. We mentioned to floor manager,(server did not bring it to his attention) he apologized, said that was not normal. Left a voice message for John Taxin to make sure Management knew how disappointing this was for the price paid - he never called back. As we left the hostess was texting on her phone and quickly put it away. Such a disappointment. I wouldn't expect poor expediting and employees on cell phones at Bookbinders. They could have comp'd my husband's glass of wine as a gesture. We have another certificate to use - maybe they have "to-go" orders.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    27
    15
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great service, good food, poor value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Beautiful space, friendly and well-trained wait staff. Proteins well prepared but menu seems a bit dated and uninspired and over-proced, given that all sides are a la carte ($11 for a side of asparagus, in March when it's $1.99/lb in the market? come on...).

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Bookbinders is a must Stop in Richmond”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

I've posted several times at this restaurant and there's a reason why I get excited about this place. It starts out with a friendly greeting when you walk thru the door, a feel like you're a part of the family, the owner comes over to your table to catch up on events and news in his beloved city of Philadelphia, the daughter chatting with you and getting excited about her 16th birthday, a server named Melissa who goes out of her way to make sure your experience is special and lastly, the food rocks! I decided to take advantage of their new spring menu and order different items than my previous visits. I started out with the Oysters on the half shell and they were big ones from Long Island and accompanied with a cocktail sauce and were out of this world. I usually enjoy their mushrooms stuffed with cheese, wine and bacon bits and those were so tantalizing and ordered their special fish, mahi mahi stuffed with lumb crabmeat and also got a side on the top and I was in heaven! Lastly, I ordered a side of asparagus with hollendaise sauce so I asked Melissa if it would be possible to get asparagus without hollendaise sauce and she insisted that a fresh order of asparagus sans hollendaise sauce would come to my table. Since I am trying to watch my girlie figure and fit into my outfits, I was delighted to hear that response. Melissa, you are the best!

I feel like I am treated like royalty at this restaurant and despite reviewers complaining about the prices, you are indulging at one of Richmond's finest restaurants and it's hard to beat the food anywhere else in this town. Yes, I am little biased since I've eaten at their restaurant in Philly for many years before its demise but the quality and service has not changed in Richmond.

I look forward to indulging at this establishment when I return in June or July. Jeanette, you better come over to my table next time.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

My husband took me here for Valentine's Day. The food was wonderful. Service was great. Crab cakes were delicious. Wine selection is good. It is the perfect place for a romantic dinner.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

Amazing dinner and stellar service. The lobster Mac and cheese and crab cakes are a cant miss! The service was stellar and wine list had something for everyone. It was a perfect place for a business meeting.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Original Bookbinders also viewed

 

Been to Old Original Bookbinders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Original Bookbinders, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.