We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyed this place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tobacco Company Restaurant and Club

Tobacco Company Restaurant and Club
1201 E Cary St, Richmond, VA 23219-4115
804-782-9555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Tobacco Company Restaurant and Club is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 1,374 Restaurants in Richmond
Price range: $21 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 12th Street
Transit: Convenient public transit stops in front of the restaurant.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“enjoyed this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

big place, huge chandelier and fun décor. I had a mahi mahi with navy bean salad and really enjoyed it. partner had a steak that was tasty but a little tough. music was pretty bad but we enjoyed the ambiance and the food. service was great! but no women servers...a little old fashioned to me.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    155
    70
    22
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napoleon, Ohio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Service. Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This restaurant is very historic and it shows. We ate on the third floor. The ambiance is wonderful. I like the different seating options for diner or for drinks. Our service was excellent. I started with she crab soup that was excellent. For dinner I had glazed pork loin with brussel sprouts. It was cooked perfectly. I would go back.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solomons, Maryland, United States
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Journey back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The Tobacco Company exudes character and service from curbside arrival with efficient valet parking in busy downtown Richmond. From there, the decor is very impressive and you hardly know where to look to drink in the rich appointments and pleasing views that are a feast for the eyes in this multi-story venue. Live music pervaded the establishment from below and there was scarcely a seat to be had anywhere. Good sign of its popularity and also reminder that reservations are a must.

The menu is extensive with good ole Southern and American favorites throughout. A bit pricey, but that typically is the case in a popular downtown venue like this beautiful eatery that has so much to offer.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hill, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great band”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We went to see a local band and to enjoy the great food. No cover for the band and the food prices are very reasonable.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Seriously happening!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

At the end of a long, steamy Richmond day, full of meetings, I opted for a drink and dinner at the Tobacco Company. The bar was packed full of interesting folk of all types. The bartender was extremely efficient and friendly and there was good conversation at the bar! I had the steak au poivre, asparagus, and potatoes. It was cooked perfectly and very delicious. I walked by other downtown restaurants and they were nearly empty! I guess the Tobacco Company is still the place to go for local businesspeople and out of town visitors. I can't wait until business brings me back again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tobacco Company Restaurant and Club also viewed

 

Been to Tobacco Company Restaurant and Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tobacco Company Restaurant and Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.