We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Brunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Del Barco

Casa Del Barco
320 S 12th St, Richmond, VA 23219
+1 804-775-2628
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Casa Del Barco is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #188 of 1,379 Restaurants in Richmond
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Residing in the restored Italianate Building at The Locks on the historic Canal Walk (formerly the Reynolds North Plant), Casa Del Barco is Richmond's singular destination for authentic Mexican cuisine. Beverage Director, Michael Avery, has compiled the most extensive stock of tequilas in the region - over 120 varieties to entertain the palate. From rare Anejos to robust Reposados, the selection is sure to impress the novice as well as the most cultivated enthusiast.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We just ate here for brunch; the food was great and our server, Stephen, was excellent!
I highly recommend the tomato bacon guacamole-best guac I've ever had!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    18
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glen Allen
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent service and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This restaurant was a little hard to get to and we had to to pay for the car to be parked. The service and food was excellent. The beef brisket enchiladas were really spicy but great! It is not your typical Mexican restaurant . It is a little pricey if you include drinks and dessert but nice for a special occasion. We will return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Overrated and Pricey”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We have been to this restaurant twice, once right after opening - so we will discount the poor service and over-cooked food from that experience. We went again last week, and the service remained poor on a Wednesday night, even though there were only 12 other people in the place. The food was marginally better, but in no way did it meet the value for the high price.
The restaurant location is a bit tough - so we would have expected that there would be a better effort and quality.
The restaurant itself is beautiful - so hopefully the folks from the Boathouse will get this straightened out eventually!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great location - new twist on Mexican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This restaurant is located on the canal in Richmond - which is one of those places we have always said "Someone should put a great restaurant here." And they finally did! Fun, fresh mexican food - a bit upscale. Fantastic drink menu - flights of great tequilas. Great sangria. The guac is fresh, fresh, fresh. Waitstaff is very nice - I've been their for business dinners, lunch, dinner with the family (including young teens) and even just drinks before dinner elsewhere. Can't beat it - fun for lunch, brunch or dinner. Give it a try. Highly recommend the tacos - fish, duck, mushroom, etc. and also the empanadas - my favorite.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic! Superb 'Mex' without the 'Tex'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had already been to the Casa del Barco a couple of times since they opened earlier this year and it was excellent both times. However tonight was phenomenal. It was a perfect Wednesday evening at the end of summer and we had just returned to the "River City" after traveling for four months on both sides of the Atlantic and eating out at many restaurants which were often much more expensive and not very exciting. We decided to eat out at the last minute and were shown to a table outside by the canal side and close to the old Hydro plant in a historic part of Richmond at the point where Christopher Newport reached the head of navigation on the James. Our server, Amy, was lovely, knowledgeable and helpful. We "lucked out" because on "Wine Wednesday" we were able to get a bottle of decent Argentine chardonnay at half price. We shared the veracruzano, a lime-freshened white-fish appetizer served with chips that was a refreshing change from guacamole or salsa ($9). For entree, I had the beef tongue tacos ($14). I was a bit nervous, but was well-rewarded These were delicate, tender and relatively hard to find in this part of the world. All credit to the chef for serving them and doing such a nice job. My wife chose an item new to the menu: "enchiladas pollo enemolados" ($14, not sure of the spelling here). The dish was completely different from anything we had eaten before. Most of the time the enchiladas sit side by side on the plate drizzled in some kind of cheesy sauce accompanied by various typical sides. In this case, enchiladas were served in a layered dish, with a richly flavored sauce that included black beans and with cabbage on top. It was imaginative, tasty and far more than one person could eat. Unfortunately, neither of us had room for dessert.

The first time you go, it is helpful to make sure you know how to find it, but it is well worth the small additional effort and they provide valet parking. That turned out to be a treat in itself because the parking attendant offered a delightful explanation of the murals on the Hydro plant nearby.

An absolutely amazing evening out at a really fair price.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Del Barco also viewed

 

Been to Casa Del Barco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Del Barco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.